Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 45 out of 100. End-of-life care

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

There were 361 deaths. Median survival was longer for residents with advanced dementia and frailty (16.5 months, 95%CI:13.5–19.5 months, P < 0.001) compared to incurable cancer (8.1 months, 95%CI:5.1–11.1 months, P < 0.001) and end-stage organ failure (7.7 months, 95%CI:3.0-12.4 months, P < 0.001). Residents with incurable cancer (HR 1.62, 95%CI:1.18–2.22, P = 0.003) and end-stage organ failure (HR 1.63, 95%CI:1.15–2.33, P = 0.006) were more likely to die during follow-up. Residents with advanced dementia and frailty had fewer in-person reviews (2.4, P < 0.001) compared to those with incurable cancer (4.5, P < 0.001) and end-stage organ failure (3.2, P < 0.001). Hospitalisations and emergency department visits were similar across groups. Nursing home residents with advanced dementia and frailty live longer and receive fewer in-person reviews at the last 6 months of life than those with other end-of-life conditions. Providers of palliative care would need to adjust service planning and resource allocation for the longer follow-up period required for this group.

Key findings

Why it matters

This retrospective cohort study found that nursing home residents with advanced dementia and frailty lived longer and received fewer in-person reviews in the last six months of life than residents with incurable cancer or end-stage organ failure. It concerns palliative care service planning, not treating, curing or preventing Alzheimer's disease.

Study details

How this study scored 45/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 1 of 4; Study design 7 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 3 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 1 of 7; Citations per year 0 of 5; Impact for its field and year 1 of 6; Cited by studies here 0 of 6; Still being cited 0 of 4; Senior author's track record 1 of 4; Institution's track record 1 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. Total 45 of 100.45 of 100 points earned55 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a cohort study following people over time. Scored zero for sample size, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (BMC Palliative Care)
Journal's citation record 1 / 4 BMC Palliative Care: journal h-index 88 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 7 / 12 A cohort study following people over time
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 3 / 3 Effect reported with a statistic (interval, p-value, ratio or similar)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 1 / 7 Cited 1 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 0 / 5 0.3 citations a year over 3 year(s) since 2025
Impact for its field and year 1 / 6 Cited 0.8× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 0 / 6 No other study in this library cites it
Still being cited 0 / 4 Cited 1 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 1 / 4 Last-listed author J.S.W. Lee: h-index 8 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 1 / 3 Nanyang Technological University: institution h-index 981 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 7 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 41354788)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Total 45 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Cao, Y., Pang, B. Y., DA SILVA, G. G., Soh, L. L., Chen, W. T., Yang, S. Y., et al. (2025). Differences in survival and healthcare utilization amongst nursing home residents with advanced dementia and frailty compared to other end-of-life conditions: a retrospective cohort study. BMC Palliative Care. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12904-025-01957-2

Vancouver

Cao Y, Pang BY, DA SILVA GG, Soh LL, Chen WT, Yang SY, et al. Differences in survival and healthcare utilization amongst nursing home residents with advanced dementia and frailty compared to other end-of-life conditions: a retrospective cohort study. BMC Palliative Care. 2025. doi:10.1186/s12904-025-01957-2. PMID: 41354788.

BibTeX

@article{cao2025-41354788,
  author  = {Cao, Yun and Pang, Bao Yu and DA SILVA, GEOVANA GUIMARÃES and Soh, Ling Ling and Chen, Wei Ting and Yang, Sze Yee and Leong, Lindy and Tan, Laurence Lean Chin and others},
  title   = {{Differences in survival and healthcare utilization amongst nursing home residents with advanced dementia and frailty compared to other end-of-life conditions: a retrospective cohort study}},
  journal = {BMC Palliative Care},
  year    = {2025},
  doi     = {10.1186/s12904-025-01957-2},
  pmid    = {41354788},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1186/s12904-025-01957-2}
}

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Related studies in End-of-life care

Also tagged “care”

996 studies in the library carry the topic tag “care”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 996 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on End-of-life care

See all studies in End-of-life care →