Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 50 out of 100. End-of-life care

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

To evaluate the impact hospice enrollment has on the terminal care of patients with dementia and describe the symptom burden these patients experience, caregivers of dementia decedents were assessed in a mortality follow-back survey. Patients had been managed through academic outpatient geriatric clinics in Chicago, IL. A total of 135 family members or other knowledgeable informants of persons who had died with dementia were queried about the patient's preferred location of death, location of death, satisfaction with patient care, and assessment of patient's pain and most bothersome symptom. Patients who were enrolled in hospice were significantly more likely to die in their location of choice (odds ratio [OR] 9.67; 95% confidence interval [CI] 2.57-37.0), and less likely to die in the hospital, (OR 0.04; 95% CI 0.01-0.18), compared to nonenrollees. Caregivers of hospice enrollees were more likely to rate patient care as excellent or very good (OR 5.65; 95% CI 2.61-10.34), compared to nonenrollees. Over 50% of caregivers of hospice enrollees and nonenrollees reported patient pain at a moderate intensity or higher on average in the last two weeks of life. No effect was observed between a caregiver reporting pain at a moderate level or higher and whether the patient was enrolled in hospice (OR 0.58; 95% CI 0.22-1.54). Hospice enrollees did not experience improvement in their most bothersome symptom's frequency, severity, or amount of distress caused (P=0.21, 0.39, 0.95, respectively), compared to nonenrollees. These results suggest that dying patients with dementia who are enrolled in hospice programs are more likely to die in their locations of choice and their caregivers are more likely to perceive that care is excellent or good than those who do not obtain hospice services. No effect on pain or other symptoms could be demonstrated in this analysis.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 50/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 3 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 29 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 50 of 100. Total 50 of 100.29 of the 58 points we could judge = 50 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 29 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 50 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of pain and symptom management)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2008 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 2 / 4 135 participants
Effect reported 3 / 3 Effect reported with a statistic (interval, p-value, ratio or similar)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 18261878)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 29 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 29 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 50 out of 100.
Total 50 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Shega, J. W., Hougham, G. W., Stocking, C. B., Cox-Hayley, D., & Sachs, G. A. (2008). Patients dying with dementia: experience at the end of life and impact of hospice care. Journal of pain and symptom management. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jpainsymman.2007.06.011

Vancouver

Shega JW, Hougham GW, Stocking CB, Cox-Hayley D, Sachs GA. Patients dying with dementia: experience at the end of life and impact of hospice care. Journal of pain and symptom management. 2008. doi:10.1016/j.jpainsymman.2007.06.011. PMID: 18261878.

BibTeX

@article{shega2008-18261878,
  author  = {Shega, J. W. and Hougham, G. W. and Stocking, C. B. and Cox-Hayley, D. and Sachs, G. A.},
  title   = {{Patients dying with dementia: experience at the end of life and impact of hospice care}},
  journal = {Journal of pain and symptom management},
  year    = {2008},
  doi     = {10.1016/j.jpainsymman.2007.06.011},
  pmid    = {18261878},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jpainsymman.2007.06.011}
}

Related studies in End-of-life care

Also tagged “care”

996 studies in the library carry the topic tag “care”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 996 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on End-of-life care

See all studies in End-of-life care →