Home › Research › Long-term cohort studies
Study partner-reported decline identifies cognitive decline and dementia risk
Nosheny RL, Jin C, Neuhaus J, Insel PS, Mackin RS, Weiner MW, Alzheimer’s Disease Neuroimaging Initiative investigators.. Annals of clinical and translational neurology, 2019-11-13
Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies
Objective Identifying individuals at risk for cognitive decline, Mild Cognitive Impairment (MCI), and dementia due to Alzheimer's disease (AD) is a critical need. Functional decline is associated with risk and can be efficiently assessed by participants and study partners (SPs). We tested the hypothesis that SP-reported functional decline is an independent predictor of dementia risk and cognitive decline.
Key findings
- Functional decline is associated with risk and can be efficiently assessed by participants and study partners (SPs).
- We tested the hypothesis that SP-reported functional decline is an independent predictor of dementia risk and cognitive decline.
- Methods In 1048 older adults in the Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative (ADNI), we measured associations between Everyday Cognition Scale scores (ECog, self- and SP-reported versions) and (1) baseline and longitudinal change in neuropsychological test (NPT scores) across multiple cognitive domains; (2) diagnostic conversion to MCI or dementia.
- Models included Mini Mental Status Exam (MMSE) score and ApoE ε4 genotype (APOE) as predictors.
Why it matters
This study tested whether functional decline reported by a study partner predicts dementia risk and cognitive decline. It measured associations between Everyday Cognition Scale scores and cognitive outcomes in older adults in ADNI.
Study details
- Study designlongitudinal study
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 51/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a longitudinal study following the same people over time. Scored zero for sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on senior author's track record, so that was left out: it earned 49 of the 96 points we could judge it on, which is 51 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Annals of clinical and translational neurology) |
| Journal's citation record | 1 / 4 | Annals of Clinical and Translational Neurology: journal h-index 97 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 7 / 12 | A longitudinal study following the same people over time |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 2 / 5 | 2019 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 4 / 7 | Cited 44 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 2 / 5 | 4.9 citations a year over 9 year(s) since 2019 |
| Impact for its field and year | 2 / 6 | Cited 2.6× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 2 / 6 | Cited by 4 other studies in this library |
| Still being cited | 2 / 4 | Cited 21 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | 2 / 3 | University of California, San Francisco: institution h-index 1,915 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 1 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 2 institution(s) in 1 country |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 31721455) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Points | 49 / 96 | Scored on 19 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 49 of the 96 points we could judge it on is 51 out of 100. |
| Total | 51 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
- DOI: 10.1002/acn3.50938
- PubMed: 31721455
- Original source →
- Free full text: Annals of Clinical and Translational Neurology →
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 7 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Nosheny, R. L., Jin, C., Neuhaus, J., Insel, P. S., Mackin, R. S., Weiner, M. W., et al. (2019). Study partner-reported decline identifies cognitive decline and dementia risk. Annals of clinical and translational neurology. https://doi.org/10.1002/acn3.50938
Vancouver
Nosheny RL, Jin C, Neuhaus J, Insel PS, Mackin RS, Weiner MW, et al. Study partner-reported decline identifies cognitive decline and dementia risk. Annals of clinical and translational neurology. 2019. doi:10.1002/acn3.50938. PMID: 31721455.
BibTeX
@article{nosheny2019-31721455,
author = {Nosheny, R. L. and Jin, C. and Neuhaus, J. and Insel, P. S. and Mackin, R. S. and Weiner, M. W. and {Alzheimer’s Disease Neuroimaging Initiative investigators}},
title = {{Study partner-reported decline identifies cognitive decline and dementia risk}},
journal = {Annals of clinical and translational neurology},
year = {2019},
doi = {10.1002/acn3.50938},
pmid = {31721455},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1002/acn3.50938}
}
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 19.
Later studies that cite this one
4 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.