Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 57 out of 100. Risk genes beyond APOE

Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models

Of 70 autopsied individuals (62 male, 8 female; mean [SD] age, 64.40 [13.94] years), 20 showed CTE-NC in the brain. All cases with CTE-NC exhibited spinal cord p-tau deposits, especially in cases aged 65 years or older with prior RHI (n = 14), often showing extensive spinal tau pathology as both neuronal (all 14 cases) and astrocytic (12 of 14 cases [86%]) p-tau deposits. Spinal p-tau pathology was associated with microglial activation and motor symptoms. Notably, among the individuals with CTE-NC and prior RHI who were aged 65 years or older, additional spinal protein pathologies were present, comprising p-TDP-43 inclusions (9 of 14 cases [64%]), Aβ deposits (13 of 14 cases [93%]), and α-synuclein deposits (7 of 14 cases [50%]), with all 4 of these pathologies present in 4 individuals (29%). In total, across all 20 CTE-NC cases, p-TDP-43 inclusions were confined to the spinal cord in 5 of the 10 individuals with spinal p-TDP-43 pathology. In contrast, among 50 individuals without CTE-NC, typically sparse p-tau deposits were seen in only 27 (54%). Among the 23 confirmed cases with a history of RHI, 16 (70%) exhibited CTE-NC, while 7 (30%) did not. Spinal tau pathology was more severe in those with CTE-NC; however, astrocytic tau pathology was also present in the group without CTE-NC, unlike in controls without RHI or CTE. Conclusions and Relevance: This case-control study provides autopsy evidence of a high prevalence of complex spinal pathology in individuals with CTE-NC, supporting the concept of trauma-related encephalomyelopathy. The frequent co-occurrence of p-TDP-43, Aβ, and α-synuclein pathologies in individuals aged 65 years or older with CTE-NC suggests that cumulative trauma might contribute to widespread misfolded protein aggregation.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Tanaka, H., Black, L. E., Forrest, S. L., Danics, K., Sadia, N., Khodadadi, M., et al. (2026). Spinal Cord Tau and Protein Copathologies Associated With Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy. JAMA Neurology. https://doi.org/10.1001/jamaneurol.2025.5421

Vancouver

Tanaka H, Black LE, Forrest SL, Danics K, Sadia N, Khodadadi M, et al. Spinal Cord Tau and Protein Copathologies Associated With Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy. JAMA Neurology. 2026. doi:10.1001/jamaneurol.2025.5421. PMID: 41587040.

BibTeX

@article{tanaka2026-41587040,
  author  = {Tanaka, Hidetomo and Black, Lauren Elaine and Forrest, Shelley L. and Danics, Krisztina and Sadia, Nusrat and Khodadadi, Mozhgan and Tator, Charles and Smith, Douglas H. and others},
  title   = {{Spinal Cord Tau and Protein Copathologies Associated With Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy}},
  journal = {JAMA Neurology},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.1001/jamaneurol.2025.5421},
  pmid    = {41587040},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1001/jamaneurol.2025.5421}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

In this autopsy case-control study, all cases with chronic traumatic encephalopathy neuropathologic changes had spinal cord p-tau deposits, often alongside TDP-43, Aβ and α-synuclein deposits, and spinal p-tau was linked to microglial activation and motor symptoms. These are post-mortem observations about co-pathologies and do not provide a treatment or cure.

Study details

How this study scored 57/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record 2 of 4; Study design 6 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 1 of 7; Citations per year 1 of 5; Impact for its field and year 4 of 6; Cited by studies here 0 of 6; Still being cited 1 of 4; Senior author's track record 3 of 4; Institution's track record 2 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. Total 57 of 100.57 of 100 points earned43 not earned

Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a case-control study. Scored zero for effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (JAMA Neurology)
Journal's citation record 2 / 4 JAMA Neurology: journal h-index 235 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 6 / 12 A case-control study
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 14 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 1 / 7 Cited 3 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 1 / 5 1.5 citations a year over 2 year(s) since 2026
Impact for its field and year 4 / 6 Cited 13.4× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 0 / 6 No other study in this library cites it
Still being cited 1 / 4 Cited 3 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 3 / 4 Last-listed author Gábor Géza Kovács: h-index 90 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 2 / 3 University of Toronto: institution h-index 1,923 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 8 institution(s) in 4 countries
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 41587040)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Total 57 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Related studies in Risk genes beyond APOE

Also tagged “phosphorylated”

732 studies in the library carry the topic tag “phosphorylated”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 732 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Risk genes beyond APOE

See all studies in Risk genes beyond APOE →