Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 55 out of 100. Biomarkers

Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers

In total, samples from 610 individuals from four clinical centres were investigated in this study. Serum GFAP levels in AD dementia were increased (median 375 pg/mL, IQR 276-505 pg/mL) compared with controls (167 pg/mL, IQR 108-234 pg/mL) and bvFTD (190 pg/mL, IQR 134-298 pg/mL, p<0.001). GFAP was already increased in the early disease phase (MCI-AD, 300 pg/mL, IQR 232-433 pg/mL, p<0.001) and was higher in patients with MCI-AD who developed dementia during follow-up (360 pg/mL, IQR 253-414 pg/mL vs 215 pg/mL, IQR 111-266 pg/mL, p<0.01, area under the curve (AUC)=0.77). Diagnostic performance of serum GFAP for AD (AUC=0.84, sensitivity 98%, specificity 60%, likelihood ratio 2.5) was comparable to serum pTau181 (AUC=0.89, sensitivity 80%, specificity 87%, likelihood ratio 6.0) but superior to serum NfL (AUC=0.71, sensitivity 92%, specificity 49%, likelihood ratio 1.8). Our data indicate a different type of reactive astrogliosis in AD and bvFTD and support serum GFAP as biomarker for differential diagnosis and prediction of MCI-to-dementia conversion.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Oeckl, P., Anderl-Straub, S., Von Arnim, C. A. F., Baldeiras, I., Diehl-Schmid, J., Grimmer, T., et al. (2022). Serum GFAP differentiates Alzheimer's disease from frontotemporal dementia and predicts MCI-to-dementia conversion. Journal of neurology, neurosurgery, and psychiatry. https://doi.org/10.1136/jnnp-2021-328547

Vancouver

Oeckl P, Anderl-Straub S, Von Arnim CAF, Baldeiras I, Diehl-Schmid J, Grimmer T, et al. Serum GFAP differentiates Alzheimer's disease from frontotemporal dementia and predicts MCI-to-dementia conversion. Journal of neurology, neurosurgery, and psychiatry. 2022. doi:10.1136/jnnp-2021-328547. PMID: 35477892.

BibTeX

@article{oeckl2022-35477892,
  author  = {Oeckl, Patrick and Anderl-Straub, Sarah and Von Arnim, Christine A F and Baldeiras, Inês and Diehl-Schmid, Janine and Grimmer, Timo and Halbgebauer, Steffen and Kort, Anna M and others},
  title   = {{Serum GFAP differentiates Alzheimer's disease from frontotemporal dementia and predicts MCI-to-dementia conversion}},
  journal = {Journal of neurology, neurosurgery, and psychiatry},
  year    = {2022},
  doi     = {10.1136/jnnp-2021-328547},
  pmid    = {35477892},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1136/jnnp-2021-328547}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 55/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 3 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 3 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read left out, no data. 31 of the 56 points it could be judged on, which is 55 of 100. Total 55 of 100.31 of the 56 points we could judge = 55 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 31 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 55 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of neurology, neurosurgery, and psychiatry)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 3 / 5 2022 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 2 / 4 230 participants
Effect reported 3 / 3 Effect reported with a statistic (interval, p-value, ratio or similar)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 35477892)
Free to read — / 2 Access not recorded — left out of this score
Points 31 / 56 Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 31 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 55 out of 100.
Total 55 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Biomarkers

Also in Biomarkers

204 studies in the library are filed under Biomarkers with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Biomarkers hub.

Similar studies

More on Biomarkers

See all studies in Biomarkers →