Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

⚠ Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 16 out of 100. Biomarkers

Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models

Service members with traumatic brain injury are at approximately two- to four-fold higher risk of Alzheimers disease or related dementias than those without such an injury, with risk increasing with injury severity. In the whole benchmarking cohort, neoGFAP discriminated mild cognitive impairment plus Alzheimers disease from non-Alzheimer subjects with an area under the receiver-operating-characteristic curve of 0.81 versus 0.73 for total GFAP, a trend-level advantage that did not reach nominal significance. Within the gate-positive, amyloid-committed subset of 23 subjects, neoGFAP dominance became significant by McNemars exact test (six discordant subjects favoured neoGFAP, none the reverse). Across diagnostic contrasts, neoGFAP outperformed total GFAP for Alzheimers disease versus control and, importantly for Veterans, for mild cognitive impairment versus chronic blast-exposed Veterans without cognitive impairment. In a same-cohort ProQuantum replication (n=57), CSF neoGFAP preserved its discrimination advantage over total GFAP for MCI+AD versus non-AD (AUROC 0.76 vs 0.72; cross-platform Spearman {rho}=0.84), while plasma neoGFAP achieved AUROC 0.90, comparable to pTau217 (0.92) and exceeding A{beta}42/40 (0.84).

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Haskins, W. E., Wang, K. K., Cai, G., Boukholda, K., Elbayoumi, E., Bajpai, R., et al. (2026). Proteoform-resolved neoGFAP as a diagnostic and prognostic biomarker across the TBI--MCI--AD continuum in Veterans. medRxiv (preprint). https://doi.org/10.64898/2026.09.01.26361845

Vancouver

Haskins WE, Wang KK, Cai G, Boukholda K, Elbayoumi E, Bajpai R, et al. Proteoform-resolved neoGFAP as a diagnostic and prognostic biomarker across the TBI--MCI--AD continuum in Veterans. medRxiv (preprint). 2026. doi:10.64898/2026.09.01.26361845.

BibTeX

@article{haskins2026-2ab27f16,
  author  = {Haskins, W. E. and Wang, K. K. and Cai, G. and Boukholda, K. and Elbayoumi, E. and Bajpai, R. and Jackson, D. and Tehas and others},
  title   = {{Proteoform-resolved neoGFAP as a diagnostic and prognostic biomarker across the TBI--MCI--AD continuum in Veterans}},
  journal = {medRxiv (preprint)},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.64898/2026.09.01.26361845},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.64898/2026.09.01.26361845}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

This study found that a marker called neoGFAP showed a trend-level advantage over total GFAP for distinguishing mild cognitive impairment plus Alzheimer's from non-Alzheimer subjects, with a significant advantage only in a small subset of 23 subjects. It is a biomarker study and does not test any treatment, cure or prevention.

Study details

How this study scored 16/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 2 of 10; Journal's citation record 0 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 4 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 0 of 7; Citations per year 0 of 5; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here 0 of 6; Still being cited 0 of 4; Senior author's track record 4 of 4; Institution's track record 3 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 3 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 1 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 31 of the 94 points it could be judged on, which is 33 of 100. Raw total 33 of 100, shown as 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed research article.raw total 33 of 100capped at 16 — hatched points do not count

Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. It scored 33 on the same rubric, but non-peer-reviewed sources are capped at 16, so it shows as 16. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on impact for its field and year, so that was left out: it earned 31 of the 94 points we could judge it on, which is 33 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 2 / 10 Tier 4 — not a peer-reviewed journal (medRxiv (preprint))
Journal's citation record 0 / 4 Not a journal article, so the journal's record does not count
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 4 / 10 Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. Hosted on a preprint server.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 57 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 0 / 7 Cited 0 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 0 / 5 0.0 citations a year over 2 year(s) since 2026
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here 0 / 6 No other study in this library cites it
Still being cited 0 / 4 Cited 0 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 4 / 4 Last-listed author Elaine R. Peskind: h-index 112 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 3 / 3 University of Washington: institution h-index 3,540 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 3 / 3 OpenAlex lists 10 institution(s) in 2 countries
Indexed in PubMed 1 / 2 Not in PubMed, but has a DOI
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 31 / 94 Scored on 19 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 31 of the 94 points we could judge it on is 33 out of 100.
Total 33 / 100 Capped to 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed article.

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Related studies in Biomarkers

Also tagged “biomarkers”

821 studies in the library carry the topic tag “biomarkers”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 821 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Biomarkers

See all studies in Biomarkers →