Home › Research › Tau biomarkers
CSF β-Amyloid and Tau Biomarker Changes in Veterans With Mild Traumatic Brain Injury
Li G, Iliff J, Shofer J, Mayer CL, Meabon J, Cook D, Pagulayan KF, Raskind MA et al.. Neurology, 2024-03-13
Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis
Background and objectives Moderate-to-severe traumatic brain injuries (TBI) have been reported to increase the risk of Alzheimer disease (AD). Whether mild TBI (mTBI) in veterans confers a similar increased risk of AD is less known. This study investigated early AD changes using CSF biomarkers in veterans with blast mTBI.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Li, G., Iliff, J., Shofer, J., Mayer, C. L., Meabon, J., Cook, D., et al. (2024). CSF β-Amyloid and Tau Biomarker Changes in Veterans With Mild Traumatic Brain Injury. Neurology. https://doi.org/10.1212/wnl.0000000000209197
Vancouver
Li G, Iliff J, Shofer J, Mayer CL, Meabon J, Cook D, et al. CSF β-Amyloid and Tau Biomarker Changes in Veterans With Mild Traumatic Brain Injury. Neurology. 2024. doi:10.1212/wnl.0000000000209197. PMID: 38478804.
BibTeX
@article{li2024-38478804,
author = {Li, G. and Iliff, J. and Shofer, J. and Mayer, C. L. and Meabon, J. and Cook, D. and Pagulayan, K. F. and Raskind, M. A. and others},
title = {{CSF β-Amyloid and Tau Biomarker Changes in Veterans With Mild Traumatic Brain Injury}},
journal = {Neurology},
year = {2024},
doi = {10.1212/wnl.0000000000209197},
pmid = {38478804},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1212/wnl.0000000000209197}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Whether mild TBI (mTBI) in veterans confers a similar increased risk of AD is less known.
- This study investigated early AD changes using CSF biomarkers in veterans with blast mTBI.
- Methods This was a cross-sectional case-control study of veterans with mTBI and non-mTBI veterans and civilians from 2 study sources.
- Blast-mTBI veterans had at least 1 war zone blast or combined blast/impact mTBI meeting Veterans Affairs (VA) and Department of Defense (DoD) criteria for mTBI.
Why it matters
This case-control study investigated early Alzheimer's changes using spinal fluid biomarkers in veterans with mild traumatic brain injury from blasts. It is a cross-sectional study and does not test whether any treatment can prevent dementia in these veterans.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Study designcase-control study
- Participants51
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 61/100
Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a case-control study. Scored zero for effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Neurology) |
| Journal's citation record | 4 / 4 | Neurology: journal h-index 525 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 6 / 12 | A case-control study |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2024 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 1 / 4 | 51 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 2 / 7 | Cited 12 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 2 / 5 | 3.0 citations a year over 4 year(s) since 2024 |
| Impact for its field and year | 3 / 6 | Cited 3.2× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 1 / 6 | Cited by 1 other studies in this library |
| Still being cited | 1 / 4 | Cited 12 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 4 / 4 | Last-listed author Elaine R. Peskind: h-index 112 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 3 / 3 | University of Washington: institution h-index 3,540 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 3 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 10 institution(s) in 3 countries |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 38478804) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Total | 61 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
- DOI: 10.1212/wnl.0000000000209197
- PubMed: 38478804
- Original source →
- Free full text: UCL Discovery (University College London) →
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.
Later studies that cite this one
1 study in the alzhub library lists this one in its references.
Related studies in Tau biomarkers
Also tagged “cerebrospinal”
821 studies in the library carry the topic tag “cerebrospinal”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 821 tagged studies.