Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 49 out of 100. Brain scans and imaging

Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models

The primary progressive aphasias (PPA) are paradigmatic disorders of language network breakdown associated with focal degeneration of the left cerebral hemisphere. Here we addressed brain correlates of PPA in a detailed neuroanatomical analysis of the third canonical syndrome of PPA, logopenic/phonological aphasia (LPA), in relation to the more widely studied clinico-anatomical syndromes of semantic dementia (SD) and progressive nonfluent aphasia (PNFA). 32 PPA patients (9 SD, 14 PNFA, 9 LPA) and 18 cognitively normal controls had volumetric brain MRI with regional volumetry, cortical thickness, grey and white matter voxel-based morphometry analyses. Five of nine patients with LPA had cerebrospinal fluid biomarkers consistent with Alzheimer (AD) pathology (AD-PPA) and 2/9 patients had progranulin (GRN) mutations (GRN-PPA). The LPA group had tissue loss in a widespread left hemisphere network. Compared with PNFA and SD, the LPA group had more extensive involvement of grey matter in posterior temporal and parietal cortices and long association white matter tracts. Overlapping but distinct networks were involved in the AD-PPA and GRN-PPA subgroups, with more anterior temporal lobe involvement in GRN-PPA. The importance of these findings is threefold: firstly, the clinico-anatomical entity of LPA has a profile of brain damage that is complementary to the network-based disorders of SD and PNFA; secondly, the core phonological processing deficit in LPA is likely to arise from temporo-parietal junction damage but disease spread occurs through the dorsal language network (and in GRN-PPA, also the ventral language network); and finally, GRN mutations provide a specific molecular substrate for language network dysfunction.

Key findings

Why it matters

Among 32 patients with primary progressive aphasia, the logopenic/phonological group had widespread left hemisphere tissue loss, and five of nine had CSF biomarkers consistent with Alzheimer pathology. This is a descriptive brain-imaging study of a language variant and does not test any treatment.

Study details

How this study scored 49/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 4 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 5 of 7; Citations per year 3 of 5; Impact for its field and year 3 of 6; Cited by studies here 2 of 6; Still being cited 2 of 4; Senior author's track record 3 of 4; Institution's track record 2 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. Total 49 of 100.49 of 100 points earned51 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (NeuroImage)
Journal's citation record 4 / 4 NeuroImage: journal h-index 523 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2010 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 5 / 7 Cited 295 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 3 / 5 16.4 citations a year over 18 year(s) since 2010
Impact for its field and year 3 / 6 Cited 7.6× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 2 / 6 Cited by 8 other studies in this library
Still being cited 2 / 4 Cited 33 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 3 / 4 Last-listed author Jason D. Warren: h-index 95 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 2 / 3 University College London: institution h-index 2,029 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 4 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 19679189)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Total 49 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Rohrer, J. D., Ridgway, G. R., Crutch, S. J., Hailstone, J., Goll, J. C., Clarkson, M. J., et al. (2010). Progressive logopenic/phonological aphasia: erosion of the language network. NeuroImage. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.neuroimage.2009.08.002

Vancouver

Rohrer JD, Ridgway GR, Crutch SJ, Hailstone J, Goll JC, Clarkson MJ, et al. Progressive logopenic/phonological aphasia: erosion of the language network. NeuroImage. 2010. doi:10.1016/j.neuroimage.2009.08.002. PMID: 19679189.

BibTeX

@article{rohrer2010-19679189,
  author  = {Rohrer, J. D. and Ridgway, G. R. and Crutch, S. J. and Hailstone, J. and Goll, J. C. and Clarkson, M. J. and Mead, S. and Beck, J. and others},
  title   = {{Progressive logopenic/phonological aphasia: erosion of the language network}},
  journal = {NeuroImage},
  year    = {2010},
  doi     = {10.1016/j.neuroimage.2009.08.002},
  pmid    = {19679189},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.neuroimage.2009.08.002}
}

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 19.

Later studies that cite this one

8 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.

Related studies in Brain scans and imaging

Also in Brain scans and imaging

114 studies in the library are filed under Brain scans and imaging with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Brain scans and imaging hub.

Similar studies

More on Brain scans and imaging

See all studies in Brain scans and imaging →