Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 74 out of 100. Clinical trials

Topic: Gut, metabolism and diet

Results Selenium supplementation, compared with the placebo, significantly reduced serum high sensitivity C-reactive protein (hs-CRP) (P < 0.001), insulin (P = 0.001), homeostasis model of assessment-insulin resistance (HOMA-IR) (P = 0.002), LDL-cholesterol (P = 0.04) and total-/HDL-cholesterol ratio (P = 0.004), and significantly increased total glutathione (GSH) (P = 0.001) and the quantitative insulin sensitivity check index (QUICKI) (P = 0.01). Compared with only selenium and placebo, probiotic and selenium co-supplementation resulted in a significant increase in mini-mental state examination score (+1.5 ± 1.3 vs. +0.5 ± 1.2 and -0.2 ± 1.1, respectively, P < 0.001). Probiotic plus selenium intake resulted in a significant reduction in hs-CRP (-1.6 ± 1.4 vs. -0.8 ± 1.0 and +0.1 ± 0.5 mg/L, respectively, P < 0.001), and a significant increase in total antioxidant capacity (+89.4 ± 129.6 vs. +20.0 ± 62.5 and -0.7 ± 27.2 mmol/L, respectively, P = 0.001) and GSH (+122.8 ± 136.5 vs. +102.2 ± 135.2 and +1.5 ± 53.2 μmol/L, respectively, P = 0.001) compared with only selenium and placebo. In addition, subjects who received probiotic plus selenium supplements had significantly lower insulin levels (-2.1 ± 2.5 vs. -1.0 ± 1.3 and +0.7 ± 2.0 μIU/mL, respectively, P < 0.001), HOMA-IR (-0.5 ± 0.6 vs. -0.2 ± 0.3 and +0.1 ± 0.4, respectively, P < 0.001), and higher QUICKI (+0.01 ± 0.01 vs. +0.005 ± 0.007 and -0.002 ± 0.01, respectively, P < 0.006) compared with only selenium and placebo. Additionally, probiotic and selenium co-supplementation resulted in a significant reduction in serum triglycerides (-17.9 ± 26.1 vs. -3.5 ± 33.9 and +0.3 ± 9.3 mg/dL, respectively, P = 0.02), VLDL- (-3.6 ± 5.2 vs. -0.7 ± 6.8 and +0.05 ± 1.8 mg/dL, respectively, P = 0.02), LDL- (-8.8 ± 17.8 vs. -8.1 ± 19.2 and +2.7 ± 19.0 mg/dL, respectively, P = 0.04) and total-/HDL-cholesterol (-0.3 ± 0.7 vs. -0.4 ± 0.9 and +0.3 ± 0.6, respectively, P = 0.005) compared with only selenium and placebo. Conclusions Overall, we found that probiotic and selenium co-supplementation for 12 weeks to patients with AD improved cognitive function and some metabolic profiles.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 74/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 11 of 12; Strength of evidence 5 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 2 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 2 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 43 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 74 of 100. Total 74 of 100.43 of the 58 points we could judge = 74 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a randomised controlled trial. Scored zero for effect reported because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 43 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 74 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Clinical nutrition (Edinburgh, Scotland))
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 11 / 12 A randomised controlled trial (from PubMed type “Randomized Controlled Trial”)
Strength of evidence 5 / 5 Rated “high” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 2 / 5 2019 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 27 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 2 / 2 Randomised and blinded or placebo-controlled (as stated in the record)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 30642737)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 43 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 43 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 74 out of 100.
Total 74 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 8 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Tamtaji, O. R., Heidari-Soureshjani, R., Mirhosseini, N., Kouchaki, E., Bahmani, F., Aghadavod, E., et al. (2019). Probiotic and selenium co-supplementation, and the effects on clinical, metabolic and genetic status in Alzheimer's disease: A randomized, double-blind, controlled trial. Clinical nutrition (Edinburgh, Scotland). https://doi.org/10.1016/j.clnu.2018.11.034

Vancouver

Tamtaji OR, Heidari-Soureshjani R, Mirhosseini N, Kouchaki E, Bahmani F, Aghadavod E, et al. Probiotic and selenium co-supplementation, and the effects on clinical, metabolic and genetic status in Alzheimer's disease: A randomized, double-blind, controlled trial. Clinical nutrition (Edinburgh, Scotland). 2019. doi:10.1016/j.clnu.2018.11.034. PMID: 30642737.

BibTeX

@article{tamtaji2019-30642737,
  author  = {Tamtaji, O. R. and Heidari-Soureshjani, R. and Mirhosseini, N. and Kouchaki, E. and Bahmani, F. and Aghadavod, E. and Tajabadi-Ebrahimi, M. and Asemi, Z.},
  title   = {{Probiotic and selenium co-supplementation, and the effects on clinical, metabolic and genetic status in Alzheimer's disease: A randomized, double-blind, controlled trial}},
  journal = {Clinical nutrition (Edinburgh, Scotland)},
  year    = {2019},
  doi     = {10.1016/j.clnu.2018.11.034},
  pmid    = {30642737},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.clnu.2018.11.034}
}

Related studies in Clinical trials

Also tagged “dysbiosis”

173 studies in the library carry the topic tag “dysbiosis”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 173 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Clinical trials

See all studies in Clinical trials →