Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 55 out of 100. Treatments

Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety

Lecanemab (Leqembi®) was recently approved by health authorities in the United States, Japan, and China to treat early Alzheimer's disease (AD), including patients with mild cognitive impairment (MCI) or mild dementia due to Alzheimer's disease upon confirmation of amyloid beta pathology. Extensively and sparsely sampled PK profiles from 1619 AD subjects and 21,929 serum lecanemab observations from two phase I, one phase II, and one phase III studies were well characterized using a two-compartment model with first-order elimination. The final PK model quantified covariate effects of body weight and sex on clearance and central volume of distribution, ADA-positive status, and albumin on clearance, and of Japanese ethnicity on central and peripheral volumes of distribution. Exposure to lecanemab was comparable between two lecanemab-manufacturing processes. However, none of the identified covariates in the model had a clinically relevant impact on model-predicted lecanemab C max or AUC at steady state following 10 mg/kg bi-weekly. Importantly, age, a well-recognized risk factor for AD, was not found to significantly affect lecanemab PK. The incidence of ARIA-E as a function of lecanemab exposure was modeled using a logit function with data pooled from 2641 subjects from the phase II and phase III studies, in which a total of 177 incidences of ARIA-E were observed. The probability of ARIA-E was significantly correlated with model-predicted C max and predicted to be higher in subjects homozygous for APOE4. The incidence of isolated ARIA-H was not associated with lecanemab exposure and was similar between placebo and lecanemab-treated subjects.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 55/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 3 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 32 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 55 of 100. Total 55 of 100.32 of the 58 points we could judge = 55 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 32 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 55 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (CPT: pharmacometrics & systems pharmacology)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2024 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 3 / 4 2,641 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 39207112)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 32 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 32 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 55 out of 100.
Total 55 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Majid, O., Cao, Y., Willis, B. A., Hayato, S., Takenaka, O., Lalovic, B., et al. (2024). Population pharmacokinetics and exposure-response analyses of safety (ARIA-E and isolated ARIA-H) of lecanemab in subjects with early Alzheimer's disease. CPT: pharmacometrics & systems pharmacology. https://doi.org/10.1002/psp4.13224

Vancouver

Majid O, Cao Y, Willis BA, Hayato S, Takenaka O, Lalovic B, et al. Population pharmacokinetics and exposure-response analyses of safety (ARIA-E and isolated ARIA-H) of lecanemab in subjects with early Alzheimer's disease. CPT: pharmacometrics & systems pharmacology. 2024. doi:10.1002/psp4.13224. PMID: 39207112.

BibTeX

@article{majid2024-39207112,
  author  = {Majid, O. and Cao, Y. and Willis, B. A. and Hayato, S. and Takenaka, O. and Lalovic, B. and Sreerama Reddy, S. H. and Penner, N. and others},
  title   = {{Population pharmacokinetics and exposure-response analyses of safety (ARIA-E and isolated ARIA-H) of lecanemab in subjects with early Alzheimer's disease}},
  journal = {CPT: pharmacometrics \& systems pharmacology},
  year    = {2024},
  doi     = {10.1002/psp4.13224},
  pmid    = {39207112},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1002/psp4.13224}
}

Related studies in Treatments

Also tagged “aducanumab”

332 studies in the library carry the topic tag “aducanumab”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 332 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Treatments

See all studies in Treatments →