Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 45 out of 100. Treatments

Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety

Lecanemab is an anti-amyloid monoclonal antibody, recently approved in the UK as a treatment for mild cognitive impairment (MCI) and mild dementia due to Alzheimer's disease (AD) in adults who are apolipoprotein E ε4 gene (APOE4) heterozygotes or non-carriers.A group of UK neurologists, old age psychiatrists and geriatricians with expertise in AD convened to agree appropriate use recommendations for lecanemab in UK clinical practice. The primary focus of these recommendations is safety.Eligibility criteria for lecanemab in the UK include (a) a clinical diagnosis of MCI or mild dementia due to AD, (b) the presence of amyloid-β pathology, confirmed using approved methods (ie, an amyloid positron emission tomography scan or cerebrospinal fluid assay) and (c) APOE4 heterozygous or non-carrier status. Eligibility screening should be conducted in secondary care and those identified as being potentially eligible for lecanemab should be referred to a specialist centre for confirmation of the likely pathological diagnosis, APOE4 counselling and testing and a multidisciplinary consensus decision regarding treatment eligibility. Lecanemab is administered as an intravenous infusion every 2 weeks, and those eligible for treatment should have brain magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scans prior to the 1st, 5th, 7th and 14th infusions. Specific guidance is provided for safety monitoring and management of potential adverse reactions, including amyloid-related imaging abnormalities and infusion-related reactions.The introduction of lecanemab into UK clinical practice provides an important opportunity to improve services for all people living with dementia, not just those eligible for lecanemab treatment.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 45/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read left out, no data. 25 of the 56 points it could be judged on, which is 45 of 100. Total 45 of 100.25 of the 56 points we could judge = 45 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 25 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 45 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of neurology, neurosurgery, and psychiatry)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 41390238)
Free to read — / 2 Access not recorded — left out of this score
Points 25 / 56 Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 25 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 45 out of 100.
Total 45 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Mummery, C. J., Rasmussen, J., Blackburn, D., Coulthard, E., Davies, R. R., Dorsey, R., et al. (2026). Lecanemab appropriate use recommendations for clinical practice in the UK. Journal of neurology, neurosurgery, and psychiatry. https://doi.org/10.1136/jnnp-2025-336597

Vancouver

Mummery CJ, Rasmussen J, Blackburn D, Coulthard E, Davies RR, Dorsey R, et al. Lecanemab appropriate use recommendations for clinical practice in the UK. Journal of neurology, neurosurgery, and psychiatry. 2026. doi:10.1136/jnnp-2025-336597. PMID: 41390238.

BibTeX

@article{mummery2026-41390238,
  author  = {Mummery, Catherine J and Rasmussen, Jill and Blackburn, Dan and Coulthard, Elizabeth and Davies, R Rhys and Dorsey, Rachel and Fox, Nick C and Hosseini, Akram A and others},
  title   = {{Lecanemab appropriate use recommendations for clinical practice in the UK}},
  journal = {Journal of neurology, neurosurgery, and psychiatry},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.1136/jnnp-2025-336597},
  pmid    = {41390238},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1136/jnnp-2025-336597}
}

Related studies in Treatments

Also tagged “aducanumab”

332 studies in the library carry the topic tag “aducanumab”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 332 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Treatments

See all studies in Treatments →