Home › Research › Treatments
First-In-Human safety and long-term exposure data for AAB-003 (PF-05236812) and biomarkers after intravenous infusions of escalating doses in patients with mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease
Delnomdedieu M, Duvvuri S, Li DJ, Atassi N, Lu M, Brashear HR, Liu E, Ness S et al.. Alzheimer's research & therapy, 2016-03-01
Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety
Background In the First-In-Human (FIH), 39-week, randomized, adaptive design study, safety, tolerability, pharmacokinetics and biomarkers were measured in patients with mild-to-moderate Alzheimer's disease (AD) after infusion of a humanized monoclonal antibody to amyloid β, AAB-003 (NCT01193608; registered 19 August 2010). AAB-003 was developed by modifying bapineuzumab to reduce Fc-receptor-mediated effector function as a strategy to reduce the removal of amyloid from vessel walls associated with amyloid-related imaging abnormalities with edema/effusions (ARIA-E) without diminishing overall amyloid clearance. Methods Eighty-eight patients with AD received up to three infusions of AAB-003 (or placebo) 13 weeks apart at doses of 0.5, 1, 2, 4 or 8 mg/kg in the FIH trial. Dose escalation was based on safety data reviews using a Bayesian escalation algorithm. Subjects who completed the FIH study were permitted to enter a 1-year open-label extension trial with four additional intravenous infusions of AAB-003 (NCT01369225; registered 10 May 2011). Results Dose-dependent increases in plasma amyloid β and AAB-003 were observed. No significant changes in cerebral spinal fluid biomarkers were observed. Pharmacokinetics elimination half-life (21-28 days) clearance and volume of distribution values were consistent across dose groups indicating linearity. ARIA-E was the most notable safety finding detected by magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) at 8 mg/kg in two patients. Three cases of microhemorrhage were observed. No new safety findings or MRI abnormalities were observed for the 52 subjects who received AAB-003 in the extension trial. Conclusion Based on integrated review of laboratory, electrocardiogram, adverse events, and MRI, AAB-003 was safe and well tolerated up to 8 mg/kg for up to 91 weeks (FIH and extension trials) in patients with mild to moderate AD. Asymptomatic and resolvable ARIA-E was observed after the first or second infusion of AAB-003, similar to bapineuzumab. The AAB-003 dose at which ARIA-E was observed was higher compared to bapineuzumab, supporting the hypothesis that reducing Fc-receptor effector function may reduce the ARIA associated with monoclonal antibodies targeting cerebral amyloid.
Key findings
- AAB-003 was developed by modifying bapineuzumab to reduce Fc-receptor-mediated effector function as a strategy to reduce the removal of amyloid from vessel walls associated with amyloid-related imaging abnormalities with edema/effusions (ARIA-E) without diminishing overall amyloid clearance.
- Results Dose-dependent increases in plasma amyloid β and AAB-003 were observed.
- No significant changes in cerebral spinal fluid biomarkers were observed.
- The AAB-003 dose at which ARIA-E was observed was higher compared to bapineuzumab, supporting the hypothesis that reducing Fc-receptor effector function may reduce the ARIA associated with monoclonal antibodies targeting cerebral amyloid.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Treatments →
Study details
- Study designopen-label trial
- Participants52
- Evidence strengthHigh
How this study scored 74/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a randomised controlled trial. Scored zero for effect reported because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 43 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 74 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Alzheimer's research & therapy) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 11 / 12 | A randomised controlled trial (from PubMed type “Randomized Controlled Trial”) |
| Strength of evidence | 5 / 5 | Rated “high” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 2016 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 1 / 4 | 52 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 1 / 2 | Randomised (as stated in the record) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 26925577) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Points | 43 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 43 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 74 out of 100. |
| Total | 74 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Delnomdedieu, M., Duvvuri, S., Li, D. J., Atassi, N., Lu, M., Brashear, H. R., et al. (2016). First-In-Human safety and long-term exposure data for AAB-003 (PF-05236812) and biomarkers after intravenous infusions of escalating doses in patients with mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease. Alzheimer's research & therapy. https://doi.org/10.1186/s13195-016-0177-y
Vancouver
Delnomdedieu M, Duvvuri S, Li DJ, Atassi N, Lu M, Brashear HR, et al. First-In-Human safety and long-term exposure data for AAB-003 (PF-05236812) and biomarkers after intravenous infusions of escalating doses in patients with mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease. Alzheimer's research & therapy. 2016. doi:10.1186/s13195-016-0177-y. PMID: 26925577.
BibTeX
@article{delnomdedieu2016-26925577,
author = {Delnomdedieu, M. and Duvvuri, S. and Li, D. J. and Atassi, N. and Lu, M. and Brashear, H. R. and Liu, E. and Ness, S. and others},
title = {{First-In-Human safety and long-term exposure data for AAB-003 (PF-05236812) and biomarkers after intravenous infusions of escalating doses in patients with mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease}},
journal = {Alzheimer's research \& therapy},
year = {2016},
doi = {10.1186/s13195-016-0177-y},
pmid = {26925577},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1186/s13195-016-0177-y}
}
Related studies in Treatments
Also tagged “aducanumab”
332 studies in the library carry the topic tag “aducanumab”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 332 tagged studies.