Home › Research › Biomarkers
Plasma p-tau species are elevated in presymptomatic and symptomatic neuronal intranuclear inclusion disease
Sizhe Zhang, Bin Jiao, Yan Zeng, Qiying Sun, Xiaoyu Chen, Weiwei Zhang, Ziyu Ouyang, Qiao Xiao et al.. EBioMedicine, 2026-01-14
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
P-tau217, p-tau231, p-tau181, α-syn, NfL, and GFAP levels were elevated in patients with NIID compared with HCs; p-tau species and GFAP were also upregulated in preNIID. P-tau species, particularly p-tau217, effectively distinguished NIID/preNIID from HCs (AUC 0.814/0.848), but failed to differentiate NIID from AD. The level of p-tau217 was associated with MMSE and FAB scores in dementia-dominant subtype, and the level of GFAP correlated to white matter volume. A tau-PET study revealed distinct tau deposition on the occipital lobe and temporal pole in NIID without Aβ pathology. The significant changes of p-tau levels and prominent tau deposition highlight tau pathology involvement in NIID. Elevated plasma p-tau species in preNIID/NIID indicate their potential as biomarkers for NIID. FUNDING: This study was supported by the National Natural Science Foundation of China (82394421, 82394420, 82371866, 82371434); the National Key R&D Program of China (2022ZD0213700); Natural Science Foundation of Hunan Province (2023JJ10097, 2025JJ40089, 2023JJ40948).
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Zhang, S., Jiao, B., Zeng, Y., Sun, Q., Chen, X., Zhang, W., et al. (2026). Plasma p-tau species are elevated in presymptomatic and symptomatic neuronal intranuclear inclusion disease. EBioMedicine. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ebiom.2026.106127
Vancouver
Zhang S, Jiao B, Zeng Y, Sun Q, Chen X, Zhang W, et al. Plasma p-tau species are elevated in presymptomatic and symptomatic neuronal intranuclear inclusion disease. EBioMedicine. 2026. doi:10.1016/j.ebiom.2026.106127. PMID: 41539185.
BibTeX
@article{zhang2026-41539185,
author = {Zhang, Sizhe and Jiao, Bin and Zeng, Yan and Sun, Qiying and Chen, Xiaoyu and Zhang, Weiwei and Ouyang, Ziyu and Xiao, Qiao and others},
title = {{Plasma p-tau species are elevated in presymptomatic and symptomatic neuronal intranuclear inclusion disease}},
journal = {EBioMedicine},
year = {2026},
doi = {10.1016/j.ebiom.2026.106127},
pmid = {41539185},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ebiom.2026.106127}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- P-tau217, p-tau231, p-tau181, α-syn, NfL, and GFAP levels were elevated in patients with NIID compared with HCs; p-tau species and GFAP were also upregulated in preNIID.
- P-tau species, particularly p-tau217, effectively distinguished NIID/preNIID from HCs (AUC 0.814/0.848), but failed to differentiate NIID from AD.
- The level of p-tau217 was associated with MMSE and FAB scores in dementia-dominant subtype, and the level of GFAP correlated to white matter volume.
- A tau-PET study revealed distinct tau deposition on the occipital lobe and temporal pole in NIID without Aβ pathology.
- The significant changes of p-tau levels and prominent tau deposition highlight tau pathology involvement in NIID.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Participants87
- Effect sizeAUC 0.814
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 57/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 32 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 57 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (EBioMedicine) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 5 / 5 | 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 1 / 4 | 87 participants |
| Effect reported | 3 / 3 | Effect reported with a statistic (interval, p-value, ratio or similar) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 41539185) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 32 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 32 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 57 out of 100. |
| Total | 57 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “tauopathies”
387 studies in the library carry the topic tag “tauopathies”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 387 tagged studies.