Home › Research › Brain scans and imaging
Evaluation of [18F]PI-2620, a second-generation selective tau tracer, for assessing four-repeat tauopathies
Toshiki Tezuka, Keisuke Takahata, Morinobu Seki, Hajime Tabuchi, Yuki Momota, Mika Shiraiwa, Natsumi Suzuki, Ayaka Morimoto et al.. Brain communications, 2021-08-24
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
To assess the ability of [18F]PI-2620 to detect regional tau burden in non-Alzheimer's disease tauopathies compared with Alzheimer's disease, patients with progressive supranuclear palsy (n = 3), corticobasal syndrome (n = 2), corticobasal degeneration (n = 1) or Alzheimer's disease (n = 8), and healthy controls (n = 7) were recruited. For pathologic validation, tau pathology was assessed using tau immunohistochemistry and compared with [18F]PI-2620 retention in an autopsied case of corticobasal degeneration. Standardized uptake value ratio analyses revealed that patients with non-Alzheimer's disease tauopathies had elevated [18F]PI-2620 uptake only in the globus pallidus, as compared to patients with Alzheimer's disease, but not healthy controls. A head-to-head comparison of [18F]PI-2620 and [18F]PM-PBB3, another tau PET probe for possibly visualizing the four-repeat tau pathogenesis in non-Alzheimer's disease, revealed different retention patterns in one subject with progressive supranuclear palsy. Imaging-pathology correlation analysis of the autopsied patient with corticobasal degeneration revealed no significant correlation between [18F]PI-2620 retention in vivo.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Tezuka, T., Takahata, K., Seki, M., Tabuchi, H., Momota, Y., Shiraiwa, M., et al. (2021). Evaluation of [18F]PI-2620, a second-generation selective tau tracer, for assessing four-repeat tauopathies. Brain communications. https://doi.org/10.1093/braincomms/fcab190
Vancouver
Tezuka T, Takahata K, Seki M, Tabuchi H, Momota Y, Shiraiwa M, et al. Evaluation of [18F]PI-2620, a second-generation selective tau tracer, for assessing four-repeat tauopathies. Brain communications. 2021. doi:10.1093/braincomms/fcab190. PMID: 34632382.
BibTeX
@article{tezuka2021-34632382,
author = {Tezuka, Toshiki and Takahata, Keisuke and Seki, Morinobu and Tabuchi, Hajime and Momota, Yuki and Shiraiwa, Mika and Suzuki, Natsumi and Morimoto, Ayaka and others},
title = {{Evaluation of [18F]PI-2620, a second-generation selective tau tracer, for assessing four-repeat tauopathies}},
journal = {Brain communications},
year = {2021},
doi = {10.1093/braincomms/fcab190},
pmid = {34632382},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1093/braincomms/fcab190}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- To assess the ability of [18F]PI-2620 to detect regional tau burden in non-Alzheimer's disease tauopathies compared with Alzheimer's disease, patients with progressive supranuclear palsy (n = 3), corticobasal syndrome (n = 2), corticobasal degeneration (n = 1) or Alzheimer's disease (n = 8), and healthy controls (n = 7) were recruited.
- For pathologic validation, tau pathology was assessed using tau immunohistochemistry and compared with [18F]PI-2620 retention in an autopsied case of corticobasal degeneration.
- Standardized uptake value ratio analyses revealed that patients with non-Alzheimer's disease tauopathies had elevated [18F]PI-2620 uptake only in the globus pallidus, as compared to patients with Alzheimer's disease, but not healthy controls.
- A head-to-head comparison of [18F]PI-2620 and [18F]PM-PBB3, another tau PET probe for possibly visualizing the four-repeat tau pathogenesis in non-Alzheimer's disease, revealed different retention patterns in one subject with progressive supranuclear palsy.
- Imaging-pathology correlation analysis of the autopsied patient with corticobasal degeneration revealed no significant correlation between [18F]PI-2620 retention in vivo.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Brain scans & tests →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 45/100
Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 25 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 45 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Brain communications) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2021 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 34632382) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 25 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 25 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 45 out of 100. |
| Total | 45 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Brain scans and imaging
Also tagged “tauopathies”
387 studies in the library carry the topic tag “tauopathies”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 387 tagged studies.