Home › Research › Biomarkers
Neuronal plasma biomarkers in acute ischemic stroke
Julia K Gundersen, Fernando Gonzalez-Ortiz, Thomas Karikari, Bjørn-Eivind Kirsebom, Katrin Mertes, Henrik Zetterberg, Hlin Kvartsberg, Ole Morten Rønning et al.. Journal of cerebral blood flow and metabolism : official journal of the International Society of Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism, 2024-10-25
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
Early imaging-based detection of acute ischemic stroke (AIS) has improved in the era of reperfusion therapy. Despite of this, prognosis of outcome after AIS remains a challenge. Therefore, parameters that support clinical decision making are sought. Blood-based biomarkers have the potential to provide valuable information in addition to the established prognostic factors. Neuronal biomarkers of acute or degenerative neuronal injury have shown to be reliably detected in plasma. These biomarkers are well-established in neurodegenerative pathology, such as Alzheimer's disease. In this study, we explored the association between stroke diameter and plasma biomarkers for neuronal injury and tau pathophysiology (brain-derived tau [BD-tau], phosphorylated-tau-217 [p-tau21] and neurofilament light [NfL]) in patients (n = 193) admitted to the acute ward, Akershus University Hospital. All patients received a final diagnosis of AIS, transient ischemic attack or stroke mimics. Blood samples were obtained the day after admission. We find that levels of BD-tau (p = .004) and NfL (p = .011) were higher after AIS than in patients with stroke mimics. The cortical stroke diameter correlated with BD-tau (tau-b = 0.64, p < .001) and p-tau217 (tau-b = 0.36, p = .003). Linear regression confirmed BD-tau to be the strongest variable associated with stroke diameter, pointing to the potential clinical value of plasma BD-tau in outcome prediction after AIS.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Gundersen, J. K., Gonzalez-Ortiz, F., Karikari, T., Kirsebom, B.-E., Mertes, K., Zetterberg, H., et al. (2025). Neuronal plasma biomarkers in acute ischemic stroke. Journal of cerebral blood flow and metabolism : official journal of the International Society of Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism. https://doi.org/10.1177/0271678x241293537
Vancouver
Gundersen JK, Gonzalez-Ortiz F, Karikari T, Kirsebom B.-E, Mertes K, Zetterberg H, et al. Neuronal plasma biomarkers in acute ischemic stroke. Journal of cerebral blood flow and metabolism : official journal of the International Society of Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism. 2025. doi:10.1177/0271678x241293537. PMID: 39450480.
BibTeX
@article{gundersen2025-39450480,
author = {Gundersen, Julia K and Gonzalez-Ortiz, Fernando and Karikari, Thomas and Kirsebom, Bjørn-Eivind and Mertes, Katrin and Zetterberg, Henrik and Kvartsberg, Hlin and Rønning, Ole Morten and others},
title = {{Neuronal plasma biomarkers in acute ischemic stroke}},
journal = {Journal of cerebral blood flow and metabolism : official journal of the International Society of Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism},
year = {2025},
doi = {10.1177/0271678x241293537},
pmid = {39450480},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1177/0271678x241293537}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Linear regression confirmed BD-tau to be the strongest variable associated with stroke diameter, pointing to the potential clinical value of plasma BD-tau in outcome prediction after AIS.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Participants193
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 52/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 29 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 52 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of cerebral blood flow and metabolism : official journal of the International Society of Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 2 / 4 | 193 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 39450480) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 29 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 29 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 52 out of 100. |
| Total | 52 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “neurofilament”
696 studies in the library carry the topic tag “neurofilament”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 696 tagged studies.