Home › Research › Tau biomarkers
Cerebrospinal fluid markers for Alzheimer's disease evaluated after acute ischemic stroke
C Hesse, L Rosengren, E Vanmechelen, H Vanderstichele, C Jensen, P Davidsson, K Blennow. Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD, 2000-11
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
Potential cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) markers for Alzheimer's disease (AD) include tau protein, the 42 amino-acid form of amyloid beta (amyloid beta(1-42)) and apolipoprotein E (apoE). To study new aspects of these protein markers, we examined consecutive CSF samples from 26 patients with acute ischemic stroke. CSF samples were taken on day 0-1, day 2-3, day 7-9, 3 weeks and 3-5 months after the stroke. CSF-tau showed a marked increase day 2-3, which peaked after 1 week and returned to normal after 3-5 months. CSF-tau also showed correlation (r=0.95; p<0.01) with the size of the infarct. In contrast, CSF-amyloid beta(1-42) and CSF-apoE showed no significant changes during the period. The marked increase in CSF-tau levels after acute ischemic stroke indicate that CSF-tau reflect the degree of neuronal damage. The reason for unchanged levels of CSF-amyloid beta(1-42) and CSF-apoE after ischemic stroke remains unclear.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Hesse, C., Rosengren, L., Vanmechelen, E., Vanderstichele, H., Jensen, C., Davidsson, P., et al. (2000). Cerebrospinal fluid markers for Alzheimer's disease evaluated after acute ischemic stroke. Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD. https://doi.org/10.3233/jad-2000-23-402
Vancouver
Hesse C, Rosengren L, Vanmechelen E, Vanderstichele H, Jensen C, Davidsson P, et al. Cerebrospinal fluid markers for Alzheimer's disease evaluated after acute ischemic stroke. Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD. 2000. doi:10.3233/jad-2000-23-402. PMID: 12214084.
BibTeX
@article{hesse2000-12214084,
author = {Hesse, C and Rosengren, L and Vanmechelen, E and Vanderstichele, H and Jensen, C and Davidsson, P and Blennow, K},
title = {{Cerebrospinal fluid markers for Alzheimer's disease evaluated after acute ischemic stroke}},
journal = {Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD},
year = {2000},
doi = {10.3233/jad-2000-23-402},
pmid = {12214084},
url = {https://doi.org/10.3233/jad-2000-23-402}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 7 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- In contrast, CSF-amyloid beta(1-42) and CSF-apoE showed no significant changes during the period.
- The marked increase in CSF-tau levels after acute ischemic stroke indicate that CSF-tau reflect the degree of neuronal damage.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Participants26
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 45/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 25 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 45 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 2000 — older than 20 years, still counted |
| Sample size | 1 / 4 | 26 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 12214084) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 25 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 25 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 45 out of 100. |
| Total | 45 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Tau biomarkers
Also tagged “neurofilament”
697 studies in the library carry the topic tag “neurofilament”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 697 tagged studies.