Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 43 out of 100. Digital health tools

Topic: Brain imaging, connectivity and assessment

Alzheimer's disease (AD) patients exhibit alterations in the functional connectivity between spatially segregated brain regions which may be related to both local gray matter (GM) atrophy as well as a decline in the fiber integrity of the underlying white matter tracts. Machine learning algorithms are able to automatically detect the patterns of the disease in image data, and therefore, constitute a suitable basis for automated image diagnostic systems. The question of which magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) modalities are most useful in a clinical context is as yet unresolved. We examined multimodal MRI data acquired from 28 subjects with clinically probable AD and 25 healthy controls. Specifically, we used fiber tract integrity as measured by diffusion tensor imaging (DTI), GM volume derived from structural MRI, and the graph-theoretical measures 'local clustering coefficient' and 'shortest path length' derived from resting-state functional MRI (rs-fMRI) to evaluate the utility of the three imaging methods in automated multimodal image diagnostics, to assess their individual performance, and the level of concordance between them. We ran the support vector machine (SVM) algorithm and validated the results using leave-one-out cross-validation. For the single imaging modalities, we obtained an area under the curve (AUC) of 80% for rs-fMRI, 87% for DTI, and 86% for GM volume. When it came to the multimodal SVM, we obtained an AUC of 82% using all three modalities, and 89% using only DTI measures and GM volume. Combined multimodal imaging data did not significantly improve classification accuracy compared to the best single measures alone.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Dyrba, M., Grothe, M., Kirste, T., & Teipel, S. J. (2015). Multimodal analysis of functional and structural disconnection in Alzheimer's disease using multiple kernel SVM. Human brain mapping. https://doi.org/10.1002/hbm.22759

Vancouver

Dyrba M, Grothe M, Kirste T, Teipel SJ. Multimodal analysis of functional and structural disconnection in Alzheimer's disease using multiple kernel SVM. Human brain mapping. 2015. doi:10.1002/hbm.22759. PMID: 25664619.

BibTeX

@article{dyrba2015-25664619,
  author  = {Dyrba, M. and Grothe, M. and Kirste, T. and Teipel, S. J.},
  title   = {{Multimodal analysis of functional and structural disconnection in Alzheimer's disease using multiple kernel SVM}},
  journal = {Human brain mapping},
  year    = {2015},
  doi     = {10.1002/hbm.22759},
  pmid    = {25664619},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1002/hbm.22759}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 43/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 25 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 43 of 100. Total 43 of 100.25 of the 58 points we could judge = 43 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 25 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 43 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Human brain mapping)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2015 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 28 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 25664619)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 25 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 25 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 43 out of 100.
Total 43 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Digital health tools

Also tagged “convolutional”

205 studies in the library carry the topic tag “convolutional”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 205 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Digital health tools

See all studies in Digital health tools →