Home › Research › Cognitive tests and assessment
Long-term, home-based transcranial direct current stimulation coupled with computerized cognitive training in frontotemporal dementia: A case report
Tippett DC, Neophytou K, Tao Y, Gallegos J, Morrow C, Onyike CU, Tsapkini K.. Journal of central nervous system disease, 2024-06-03
Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies
We present the case of a 62-year-old woman with probable behavioral variant of frontotemporal dementia (bvFTD) with cognitive/language deficits who demonstrated improved performance on cognitive/language testing and in functional tasks following long-term, home-based transcranial direct current stimulation (tDCS) coupled with computerized cognitive training (CCT). The patient underwent home-based tDCS (anode on the left prefrontal cortex and cathode on the right homologue) for 46 sessions over 10 weeks along with CCT. On post-treatment testing, the patient improved by 3 points on the Mini-Mental State Exam (MMSE) (23 to 26). She also showed improvement on several cognitive/language tasks, such as immediate recall of single words and word pairs, total accurate words in sentence repetition, delayed recall, semantic processing, and sentence level comprehension. There was no decline in several other cognitive and language tasks. Family members reported subjective improvements in expressiveness, communication, and interaction with others as well as increased attention to grooming and style which contrasted with her pre-treatment condition. This report suggests that home-based tDCS combined with CCT for an extended period may slow decline, and improve cognitive/language performance and everyday function in FTD.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Tippett, D. C., Neophytou, K., Tao, Y., Gallegos, J., Morrow, C., Onyike, C. U., et al. (2024). Long-term, home-based transcranial direct current stimulation coupled with computerized cognitive training in frontotemporal dementia: A case report. Journal of central nervous system disease. https://doi.org/10.1177/11795735241258435
Vancouver
Tippett DC, Neophytou K, Tao Y, Gallegos J, Morrow C, Onyike CU, et al. Long-term, home-based transcranial direct current stimulation coupled with computerized cognitive training in frontotemporal dementia: A case report. Journal of central nervous system disease. 2024. doi:10.1177/11795735241258435. PMID: 38835997.
BibTeX
@article{tippett2024-38835997,
author = {Tippett, D. C. and Neophytou, K. and Tao, Y. and Gallegos, J. and Morrow, C. and Onyike, C. U. and Tsapkini, K.},
title = {{Long-term, home-based transcranial direct current stimulation coupled with computerized cognitive training in frontotemporal dementia: A case report}},
journal = {Journal of central nervous system disease},
year = {2024},
doi = {10.1177/11795735241258435},
pmid = {38835997},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1177/11795735241258435}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 7 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- We present the case of a 62-year-old woman with probable behavioral variant of frontotemporal dementia (bvFTD) with cognitive/language deficits who demonstrated improved performance on cognitive/language testing and in functional tasks following long-term, home-based transcranial direct current stimulation (tDCS) coupled with computerized cognitive training (CCT).
- This report suggests that home-based tDCS combined with CCT for an extended period may slow decline, and improve cognitive/language performance and everyday function in FTD.
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 50/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 29 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 50 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of central nervous system disease) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2024 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (pubmed indexes it as a clinical or observational study) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 38835997) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Points | 29 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 29 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 50 out of 100. |
| Total | 50 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment
Also tagged “computerized-cognitive”
2 studies in the library carry the topic tag “computerized-cognitive”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 2 tagged studies.