Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 72 out of 100. Cognitive tests and assessment

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

Background A randomized trial was conducted to investigate the effects of computerized cognitive training (CCT) and tai chi exercise (TCE) vs. health education (HE) on cognitive functions in 189 older adults with mild cognitive impairment (MCI). Methods Cognitive functions were assessed by the five-domain Mattis Dementia Rating Scale (MDRS) (attention, initiation/perseveration, construction, conceptualization, and memory) and the modified Telephone Interview of Cognitive Status (TICS-M), while the timed up and go (TUG), Tinetti's balance, activities of daily living (ADLs), and Activities-specific Balance Confidence (ABC) were also evaluated. Each intervention was delivered once a week for 6 months. All outcomes were followed up at 6 and 12 months of the study. Results Compared to HE, CCT increased scores on the MDRS's total, initiation/perseveration, construction, and conceptualization domains and on the TICS-M at 6 months and those on the MDRS's total, attention, construction, conceptualization, and memory domains and on the TICS-M at 12 months; TCE increased scores on the MDRS's total and construction domains and on the TICS-M at 6 months and those on the MDRS's total, attention, initiation/perseveration, and conceptualization domains and on the TICS-M at 12 months. Moreover, CCT improved the TUG at 6 and 12 months and Tinetti's balance at 12 months, and TCE improved the TUG at 6 and 12 months, Tinetti's balance, and ABC at 6 and 12 months, and ADLs at 12 months. Conclusions The effects of CCT and TCE on improving global cognition and certain cognitive domains for older MCI adults may have been small but they lasted for at least 12 months.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Hwang, H. F., Tseng, K. C., Chen, S. J., Yu, W. Y., Chen, C. Y., & Lin, M. R. (2023). Effects of home-based computerized cognitive training and tai chi exercise on cognitive functions in older adults with mild cognitive impairment. Aging & mental health. https://doi.org/10.1080/13607863.2023.2225430

Vancouver

Hwang HF, Tseng KC, Chen SJ, Yu WY, Chen CY, Lin MR. Effects of home-based computerized cognitive training and tai chi exercise on cognitive functions in older adults with mild cognitive impairment. Aging & mental health. 2023. doi:10.1080/13607863.2023.2225430. PMID: 37365961.

BibTeX

@article{hwang2023-37365961,
  author  = {Hwang, H. F. and Tseng, K. C. and Chen, S. J. and Yu, W. Y. and Chen, C. Y. and Lin, M. R.},
  title   = {{Effects of home-based computerized cognitive training and tai chi exercise on cognitive functions in older adults with mild cognitive impairment}},
  journal = {Aging \& mental health},
  year    = {2023},
  doi     = {10.1080/13607863.2023.2225430},
  pmid    = {37365961},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1080/13607863.2023.2225430}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 72/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 11 of 12; Strength of evidence 5 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 3 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 1 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 42 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 72 of 100. Total 72 of 100.42 of the 58 points we could judge = 72 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a randomised controlled trial. Scored zero for sample size and effect reported because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 42 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 72 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Aging & mental health)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 11 / 12 A randomised controlled trial
Strength of evidence 5 / 5 Rated “high” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 3 / 5 2023 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (pubmed indexes it as a clinical or observational study)
Randomised / blinded 1 / 2 Randomised (as stated in the record)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 37365961)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 42 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 42 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 72 out of 100.
Total 72 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment

Also tagged “randomized-controlled-trial”

13 studies in the library carry the topic tag “randomized-controlled-trial”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 13 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Cognitive tests and assessment

See all studies in Cognitive tests and assessment →