Home › Research › Cognitive tests and assessment
Long-term estrogen replacement therapy in female patients with dementia of the Alzheimer type: 7 case reports
Ohkura T, Isse K, Akazawa K, Hamamoto M, Yaoi Y, Hagino N.. Dementia (Basel, Switzerland), 1995-03-01
Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis
Seven female patients with mild to moderate dementia of the Alzheimer type (DAT) were treated with long-term, low-dose estrogen replacement therapy (ERT) over a period of 5-45 months. Five of the 7 patients were cases who had responded well to short-term ERT with 1.25 mg/day of conjugated equine estrogens (CEE) for 6 weeks. The 7 patients from 56 to 77 years of age received 0.625 mg/day of CEE for 21 days, followed by a pause of 7 days.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Ohkura, T., Isse, K., Akazawa, K., Hamamoto, M., Yaoi, Y., & Hagino, N. (1995). Long-term estrogen replacement therapy in female patients with dementia of the Alzheimer type: 7 case reports. Dementia (Basel, Switzerland). https://doi.org/10.1159/000106929
Vancouver
Ohkura T, Isse K, Akazawa K, Hamamoto M, Yaoi Y, Hagino N. Long-term estrogen replacement therapy in female patients with dementia of the Alzheimer type: 7 case reports. Dementia (Basel, Switzerland). 1995. doi:10.1159/000106929. PMID: 7606287.
BibTeX
@article{ohkura1995-7606287,
author = {Ohkura, T. and Isse, K. and Akazawa, K. and Hamamoto, M. and Yaoi, Y. and Hagino, N.},
title = {{Long-term estrogen replacement therapy in female patients with dementia of the Alzheimer type: 7 case reports}},
journal = {Dementia (Basel, Switzerland)},
year = {1995},
doi = {10.1159/000106929},
pmid = {7606287},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1159/000106929}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Five of the 7 patients were cases who had responded well to short-term ERT with 1.25 mg/day of conjugated equine estrogens (CEE) for 6 weeks.
- The 7 patients from 56 to 77 years of age received 0.625 mg/day of CEE for 21 days, followed by a pause of 7 days.
- A 28-day cycle of low-dose ERT was performed repeatedly.
- In 4 cases, these patients received 5 mg/day of medroxyprogesterone acetate (MPA) during the last 10-12 days of estrogen treatment.
Why it matters
This report describes seven women with mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease who received long-term low-dose estrogen replacement therapy. It is a small case series with no control group, so it cannot show whether the treatment works.
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 42/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, so that was left out: it earned 40 of the 96 points we could judge it on, which is 42 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Dementia (Basel, Switzerland)) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 1995 — older than 20 years, still counted |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (pubmed indexes it as a clinical or observational study) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 5 / 7 | Cited 150 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 2 / 5 | 4.5 citations a year over 33 year(s) since 1995 |
| Impact for its field and year | 4 / 6 | Cited 9.3× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 1 / 6 | Cited by 1 other studies in this library |
| Still being cited | 0 / 4 | Cited 0 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 1 / 4 | Last-listed author Nobuyoshi Hagino: h-index 18 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 1 / 3 | The University of Texas at San Antonio Health Science Center: institution h-index 883 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 2 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 4 institution(s) in 2 countries |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 7606287) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Points | 40 / 96 | Scored on 19 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 40 of the 96 points we could judge it on is 42 out of 100. |
| Total | 42 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
May need a subscription OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 6 Feb 1020), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.
Later studies that cite this one
1 study in the alzhub library lists this one in its references.
Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment
Also tagged “double-blind”
783 studies in the library carry the topic tag “double-blind”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 783 tagged studies.