Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 48 out of 100. Biomarkers

Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers

Among participants enrolled, the median (interquartile range) age was 57 (28.5-75) years and 5.8% had AD. Plasma p-tau181 yielded area under the curve of 0.85 and showed moderate correlation with CSF p-tau181 (Rho = 0.42, P < .001). Using the historical cut-point, many non-AD participants had elevated plasma p-tau181 resulting in a specificity of 0.57. Plasma p-tau181 correlated with the glomerular filtration rate (Rho = -0.52, P < .001). Among A- participants with elevated plasma p-tau181, 42% had kidney dysfunction. Plasma p-tau181 showed inadequate specificity in patients with AOC partially attributable to concomitant kidney dysfunction.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Thanapornsangsuth, P., Ongphichetmetha, T., Luechaipanit, W., Hemachudha, P., & Hemachudha, T. (2022). Elevation of plasma phosphorylated tau181 during neurological illnesses affecting consciousness and kidney dysfunction. Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands). https://doi.org/10.1002/dad2.12358

Vancouver

Thanapornsangsuth P, Ongphichetmetha T, Luechaipanit W, Hemachudha P, Hemachudha T. Elevation of plasma phosphorylated tau181 during neurological illnesses affecting consciousness and kidney dysfunction. Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands). 2022. doi:10.1002/dad2.12358. PMID: 36204656.

BibTeX

@article{thanapornsangsuth2022-36204656,
  author  = {Thanapornsangsuth, Poosanu and Ongphichetmetha, Tatchaporn and Luechaipanit, Watayuth and Hemachudha, Pasin and Hemachudha, Thiravat},
  title   = {{Elevation of plasma phosphorylated tau181 during neurological illnesses affecting consciousness and kidney dysfunction}},
  journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands)},
  year    = {2022},
  doi     = {10.1002/dad2.12358},
  pmid    = {36204656},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1002/dad2.12358}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 48/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 3 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 2 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read left out, no data. 27 of the 56 points it could be judged on, which is 48 of 100. Total 48 of 100.27 of the 56 points we could judge = 48 of 100

Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 27 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 48 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands))
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 3 / 5 2022 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 2 / 3 Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 36204656)
Free to read — / 2 Access not recorded — left out of this score
Points 27 / 56 Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 27 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 48 out of 100.
Total 48 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Biomarkers

Also tagged “neurofilament”

697 studies in the library carry the topic tag “neurofilament”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 697 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Biomarkers

See all studies in Biomarkers →