Home › Research › Clinical safety
Effects of Vivifrail multicomponent intervention on functional capacity: a multicentre, randomized controlled trial
Casas-Herrero Á, Sáez de Asteasu ML, Antón-Rodrigo I, Sánchez-Sánchez JL, Montero-Odasso M, Marín-Epelde I, Ramón-Espinoza F, Zambom-Ferraresi F et al.. Journal of cachexia, sarcopenia and muscle, 2022-02-11
Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies
Results The Vivifrail exercise programme provided significant benefits in functional capacity over usual-care. Participants in the usual-care group showed no significant benefit in functional capacity (mean change of -0.17 points [95% CI -0.54, 0.19 points] after 1 month and -0.33 points [95% CI -0.70, 0.04 points] after 3 months), whereas the exercise intervention reversed this trend (0.69 points [95% CI 0.29, 1.09 points] after 1 month and 1.07 points [95% CI 0.63, 1.51 points] after 3 months). Exercise group also obtained significant benefits in cognitive function, muscle function, and depression after 3 months over control group (P < 0.05).
Key findings
- Results The Vivifrail exercise programme provided significant benefits in functional capacity over usual-care.
- Participants in the usual-care group showed no significant benefit in functional capacity (mean change of -0.17 points [95% CI -0.54, 0.19 points] after 1 month and -0.33 points [95% CI -0.70, 0.04 points] after 3 months), whereas the exercise intervention reversed this trend (0.69 points [95% CI 0.29, 1.09 points] after 1 month and 1.07 points [95% CI 0.63, 1.51 points] after 3 months).
- Exercise group also obtained significant benefits in cognitive function, muscle function, and depression after 3 months over control group (P < 0.05).
Study details
- Study designrandomized controlled trial
- Participants88
- Evidence strengthHigh
How this study scored 77/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a randomised controlled trial. Scored zero for effect reported because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record and institution's track record, so those were left out: it earned 47 of the 61 points we could judge it on, which is 77 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of cachexia, sarcopenia and muscle) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 11 / 12 | A randomised controlled trial |
| Strength of evidence | 5 / 5 | Rated “high” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2022 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 1 / 4 | 88 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 1 / 2 | Randomised (as stated in the record) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 2 / 3 | PubMed indexes it as a multicentre study |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 35150086) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Points | 47 / 61 | Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 47 of the 61 points we could judge it on is 77 out of 100. |
| Total | 77 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Á, C.-H., Sáez de Asteasu, M. L., Antón-Rodrigo, I., Sánchez-Sánchez, J. L., Montero-Odasso, M., Marín-Epelde, I., et al. (2022). Effects of Vivifrail multicomponent intervention on functional capacity: a multicentre, randomized controlled trial. Journal of cachexia, sarcopenia and muscle. https://doi.org/10.1002/jcsm.12925
Vancouver
Á C.-H, Sáez de Asteasu ML, Antón-Rodrigo I, Sánchez-Sánchez JL, Montero-Odasso M, Marín-Epelde I, et al. Effects of Vivifrail multicomponent intervention on functional capacity: a multicentre, randomized controlled trial. Journal of cachexia, sarcopenia and muscle. 2022. doi:10.1002/jcsm.12925. PMID: 35150086.
BibTeX
@article{a2022-35150086,
author = {Á, Casas-Herrero and Sáez de Asteasu, M. L. and Antón-Rodrigo, I. and Sánchez-Sánchez, J. L. and Montero-Odasso, M. and Marín-Epelde, I. and Ramón-Espinoza, F. and Zambom-Ferraresi, F. and others},
title = {{Effects of Vivifrail multicomponent intervention on functional capacity: a multicentre, randomized controlled trial}},
journal = {Journal of cachexia, sarcopenia and muscle},
year = {2022},
doi = {10.1002/jcsm.12925},
pmid = {35150086},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1002/jcsm.12925}
}
Related studies in Clinical safety
Also tagged “cognitive-function”
1,118 studies in the library carry the topic tag “cognitive-function”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,118 tagged studies.