Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 71 out of 100. Treatments

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

Background Cholinergic deficits might contribute to vascular cognitive impairment. Trials of cholinesterase inhibitors in patients with vascular dementia are difficult because of heterogeneous disease mechanisms and overlap between vascular and Alzheimer's disease (AD) pathology in the age-group recruited. Cerebral autosomal dominant arteriopathy with subcortical infarcts and leucoencephalopathy (CADASIL) is a genetic form of subcortical ischaemic vascular dementia.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Dichgans, M., Markus, H. S., Salloway, S., Verkkoniemi, A., Moline, M., Wang, Q., et al. (2008). Donepezil in patients with subcortical vascular cognitive impairment: a randomised double-blind trial in CADASIL. The Lancet. Neurology. https://doi.org/10.1016/s1474-4422(08)70046-2

Vancouver

Dichgans M, Markus HS, Salloway S, Verkkoniemi A, Moline M, Wang Q, et al. Donepezil in patients with subcortical vascular cognitive impairment: a randomised double-blind trial in CADASIL. The Lancet. Neurology. 2008. doi:10.1016/s1474-4422(08)70046-2. PMID: 18296124.

BibTeX

@article{dichgans2008-18296124,
  author  = {Dichgans, M. and Markus, H. S. and Salloway, S. and Verkkoniemi, A. and Moline, M. and Wang, Q. and Posner, H. and Chabriat, H. S.},
  title   = {{Donepezil in patients with subcortical vascular cognitive impairment: a randomised double-blind trial in CADASIL}},
  journal = {The Lancet. Neurology},
  year    = {2008},
  doi     = {10.1016/s1474-4422(08)70046-2},
  pmid    = {18296124},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1016/s1474-4422(08)70046-2}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 8 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

This trial tested donepezil in patients with a genetic form of subcortical vascular dementia called CADASIL, a group chosen because they have a single, uniform disease process. The study text does not report whether donepezil improved cognition, so no conclusion about treating this dementia can be drawn from it.

Study details

How this study scored 71/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record 3 of 4; Study design 11 of 12; Strength of evidence 5 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 2 of 2; Times cited 5 of 7; Citations per year 3 of 5; Impact for its field and year 4 of 6; Cited by studies here 3 of 6; Still being cited 2 of 4; Senior author's track record 3 of 4; Institution's track record 2 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. Total 71 of 100.71 of 100 points earned29 not earned

Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a randomised controlled trial. Scored zero for effect reported because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (The Lancet. Neurology)
Journal's citation record 3 / 4 The Lancet Neurology: journal h-index 457 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 11 / 12 A randomised controlled trial (from PubMed type “Randomized Controlled Trial”)
Strength of evidence 5 / 5 Rated “high” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2008 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 86 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 2 / 2 Randomised and blinded or placebo-controlled (as stated in the record)
Times cited 5 / 7 Cited 268 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 3 / 5 13.4 citations a year over 20 year(s) since 2008
Impact for its field and year 4 / 6 Cited 13.6× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 3 / 6 Cited by 15 other studies in this library
Still being cited 2 / 4 Cited 34 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 3 / 4 Last-listed author Hugues Chabriat: h-index 87 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 2 / 3 Inserm: institution h-index 1,988 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 9 institution(s) in 5 countries
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 18296124)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Total 71 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

May need a subscription OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 6 Feb 1020), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

15 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references. Showing the 8 highest-scoring.

Related studies in Treatments

Also tagged “double-blind”

783 studies in the library carry the topic tag “double-blind”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 783 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Treatments

See all studies in Treatments →