Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

⚠ Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 16 out of 100. Biomarkers

Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers

Background It is unclear whether cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) testing improves classification when plasma phosphorylated tau 217 (p-tau217) results are indeterminate. Using amyloid and tau positron emission tomography (PET) as the reference standard, we compared plasma p-tau217 with core CSF biomarkers and evaluated a sequential plasma-to-CSF workflow. Methods We studied 283 Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative participants (148 cognitively unimpaired [CU]; 135 symptomatic) with concurrent plasma p-tau217, CSF biomarkers and amyloid PET; 265 also had tau PET. Amyloid positivity was defined at 18, 37 and 45 Centiloids (CL). Areas under the receiver operating characteristic curve (AUC) were compared with paired DeLong tests and false discovery rate (FDR) correction. Indeterminate plasma results (between the 95%-sensitivity and 95%-specificity thresholds) were resolved with internally optimized CSF p-tau181/Aβ42 or Aβ42/40 cutoffs; incremental value was assessed with net reclassification improvement (NRI) and McNemar tests. Results Mean (SD) age was 71 (7) years; 153 (54%) were women. No AUC difference between plasma p-tau217 and either CSF biomarker survived FDR correction, in either group, at any CL threshold or Braak stage. Internally optimal plasma p-tau217 thresholds shifted with clinical status and with the target amyloid and tau burden. Sequential CSF testing did not significantly improve classification (amyloid NRI 0.01 to 0.10; tau NRI − 0.09 to 0.08) and misclassified up to 27% (amyloid) and 33% (tau) of indeterminate cases. Conclusions These data are compatible with, but do not establish, equivalence between plasma p-tau217 and CSF biomarkers. When plasma results were indeterminate, CSF testing did not reduce uncertainty in this cohort. Clinical trial number: not applicable.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 16/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 2 of 10; Journal's citation record 0 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 4 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 1 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 22 of the 62 points it could be judged on, which is 35 of 100. Raw total 35 of 100, shown as 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed research article.raw total 35 of 100capped at 16 — hatched points do not count

Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. It scored 35 on the same rubric, but non-peer-reviewed sources are capped at 16, so it shows as 16. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 22 of the 62 points we could judge it on, which is 35 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 2 / 10 Tier 4 — not a peer-reviewed journal (Research Square)
Journal's citation record 0 / 4 Not a journal article, so the journal's record does not count
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 4 / 10 Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. Hosted on a preprint server.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 2 / 4 283 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 1 / 2 Not in PubMed, but has a DOI
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 22 / 62 Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 22 of the 62 points we could judge it on is 35 out of 100.
Total 35 / 100 Capped to 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed article.

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Bernardi, E., Arranz, J., Rubio-Guerra, S., García-Castro, J., Maure-Blesa, L., Rodríguez-Baz, I., et al. (2026). Does CSF testing add value after an indeterminate plasma p-tau217 result? Research Square. https://doi.org/10.21203/rs.3.rs-10754560/v1

Vancouver

Bernardi E, Arranz J, Rubio-Guerra S, García-Castro J, Maure-Blesa L, Rodríguez-Baz I, et al. Does CSF testing add value after an indeterminate plasma p-tau217 result? Research Square. 2026. doi:10.21203/rs.3.rs-10754560/v1.

BibTeX

@article{bernardi2026-632475b0,
  author  = {Bernardi, E. and Arranz, J. and Rubio-Guerra, S. and García-Castro, J. and Maure-Blesa, L. and Rodríguez-Baz, I. and Peris-Subiza, J. and Selma-González, J. and others},
  title   = {{Does CSF testing add value after an indeterminate plasma p-tau217 result?}},
  journal = {Research Square},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.21203/rs.3.rs-10754560/v1},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.21203/rs.3.rs-10754560/v1}
}

Related studies in Biomarkers

Also tagged “blood-based”

698 studies in the library carry the topic tag “blood-based”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 698 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Biomarkers

See all studies in Biomarkers →