Home › Research › Biomarkers
Diagnostic and Prognostic Biomarkers in Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis: Neurofilament Light Chain Levels in Definite Subtypes of Disease
Gaiani A, Martinelli I, Bello L, Querin G, Puthenparampil M, Ruggero S, Toffanin E, Cagnin A et al.. JAMA neurology, 2017-05-01
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
Importance A clearer definition of the role of neurofilament light chain (NFL) as a biomarker in amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) is needed. Objectives To assess the ability of NFL to serve as a diagnostic biomarker in ALS and the prognostic value of cerebrospinal fluid NFL in patients with ALS. Design, setting, and participants In this single-center, retrospective, longitudinal study, disease progression was assessed by the ALS Functional Rating Score-Revised and the ALS Milano-Torino Staging system at baseline and 6, 12, 24, and 36 months. Cerebrospinal fluid samples were obtained from 176 patients admitted to the Department of Neurosciences of the University of Padua, Padova, Italy, from January 1, 2010, through February 29, 2016. Patients with ALS underwent ambulatory follow-up at the same department. Main outcomes and measures Levels of NFL. Results The study included 94 patients with ALS (64 men [36.4%] and 30 women [17.0%]; median age, 62.5 years), 20 patients with frontotemporal dementia (FTD) (8 men [4.5%] and 12 women [6.8%]; median age, 65 years), 18 patients with motor neuropathies (14 men [8.0%] and 4 women [2.3%]; median age, 63 years), and 44 controls (24 men [13.6%] and 20 women [11.4%]; median age, 54 years). Log-transformed NFL (log[NFL]) concentrations were higher in the ALS and FTD groups compared with the motor neuropathies and control groups (hazard ratio [HR], 2.45; 95% CI, 1.66-3.61; P < .001). Patients with typical ALS (HR, 1.0 [reference]), progressive bulbar palsy (HR, 1.48; 95% CI, 0.58-3.75; P = .41), and upper motor neuron dominant ALS (HR, 0.12; 95% CI, 0.02-0.61; P = .01) had higher levels of NFL than did those with flail arm or leg syndrome (HR, 0.28; 95% CI, 0.08-0.10; P = .049) and progressive muscular atrophy (HR, 0.17; 95% CI, 0.22-1.36; P = .10). There was an inverse correlation between log[NFL] concentration and overall survival (HR, 2.45; 95% CI, 1.66-3.61; P < .001). There was no evidence of different log[NFL] concentrations and survival in genetic ALS. Conclusions and relevance This study confirms the role of NFL as a biomarker in ALS. Elevation in NFL levels in patients with upper motor neuron involvement and FTD might reflect the corticospinal tract degeneration. Low NFL levels in patients with lower motor neuron signs might be a prognostic indicator of milder phenotypes of disease.
Key findings
- Results The study included 94 patients with ALS (64 men [36.4%] and 30 women [17.0%]; median age, 62.5 years), 20 patients with frontotemporal dementia (FTD) (8 men [4.5%] and 12 women [6.8%]; median age, 65 years), 18 patients with motor neuropathies (14 men [8.0%] and 4 women [2.3%]; median age, 63 years), and 44 controls (24 men [13.6%] and 20 women [11.4%]; median age, 54 years).
- Log-transformed NFL (log[NFL]) concentrations were higher in the ALS and FTD groups compared with the motor neuropathies and control groups (hazard ratio [HR], 2.45; 95% CI, 1.66-3.61; P < .001).
- There was an inverse correlation between log[NFL] concentration and overall survival (HR, 2.45; 95% CI, 1.66-3.61; P < .001).
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Study designlongitudinal study
- Participants94
- Effect size36.4%; 17.0%; 4.5%
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 67/100
Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a longitudinal study following the same people over time. Scored zero for randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 39 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 67 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (JAMA neurology) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 7 / 12 | A longitudinal study following the same people over time |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 2 / 5 | 2017 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 1 / 4 | 94 participants |
| Effect reported | 2 / 3 | Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 28264096) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Points | 39 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 39 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 67 out of 100. |
| Total | 67 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Gaiani, A., Martinelli, I., Bello, L., Querin, G., Puthenparampil, M., Ruggero, S., et al. (2017). Diagnostic and Prognostic Biomarkers in Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis: Neurofilament Light Chain Levels in Definite Subtypes of Disease. JAMA neurology. https://doi.org/10.1001/jamaneurol.2016.5398
Vancouver
Gaiani A, Martinelli I, Bello L, Querin G, Puthenparampil M, Ruggero S, et al. Diagnostic and Prognostic Biomarkers in Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis: Neurofilament Light Chain Levels in Definite Subtypes of Disease. JAMA neurology. 2017. doi:10.1001/jamaneurol.2016.5398. PMID: 28264096.
BibTeX
@article{gaiani2017-28264096,
author = {Gaiani, A. and Martinelli, I. and Bello, L. and Querin, G. and Puthenparampil, M. and Ruggero, S. and Toffanin, E. and Cagnin, A. and others},
title = {{Diagnostic and Prognostic Biomarkers in Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis: Neurofilament Light Chain Levels in Definite Subtypes of Disease}},
journal = {JAMA neurology},
year = {2017},
doi = {10.1001/jamaneurol.2016.5398},
pmid = {28264096},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1001/jamaneurol.2016.5398}
}
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “blood-based”
698 studies in the library carry the topic tag “blood-based”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 698 tagged studies.