Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 48 out of 100. Health systems and care delivery

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

The Additional Roles Reimbursement Scheme (ARRS) launched in England in 2019 to expand the multidisciplinary primary care workforce, but its impact on workload since implementation is unclear. To examine changes in workload complexity associated with ARRS implementation. A longitudinal cohort study was conducted, which used the Clinical Practice Research Datalink (CPRD) Aurum. In total, 3 530 628 consultations were analysed involving GPs, nurses, or direct patient care (DPC)-ARRS roles for 420 986 patients from 369 English practices in 2018 and 2021. Multilevel logistic regression assessed associations between 17 patient and consultation complexity factors and being seen by a DPC-ARRS role, adjusting for year, age, sex, region, deprivation, and consultation mode. Complex consultations with DPC-ARRS-eligible roles increased from 15.8% in 2018 to 18.8% in 2021. Diagnostically capable ARRS roles were more likely than GPs to conduct the first consultation after diabetes diagnosis (odds ratio [OR] 1.4, 95% confidence interval [CI] = 1.3 to 1.5) and consultations with ≥2 preventive tasks (OR 5.6, 95% CI = 5.5 to 5.8), but less likely to manage chronic pain (OR 0.8, 95% CI = 0.7 to 0.9), dementia (OR 0.4, 95% CI = 0.3 to 0.4), mental illness (OR 0.4, 95% CI = 0.3 to 0.5), learning disabilities (OR 0.3, 95% CI = 0.3 to 0.4), consultations with ≥3 medicines prescribed (OR 0.6, 95% CI = 0.5 to 0.6), consultations resulted in emergency admission (OR 0.7, 95% CI = 0.6 to 0.8), and consultations with ≥2 diagnoses coded (OR 0.5, 95% CI = 0.5 to 0.5). Patients with interpreter needs (OR 1.2, 95% CI = 1.1 to 1.3), experiencing recent homelessness (OR 1.4, 95% CI = 1.1 to 1.7), or ≥3 long-term conditions (OR 1.1, 95% CI = 1.1 to 1.1) were more likely to be seen by diagnostic ARRS staff. Following ARRS implementation, primary care activity was delivered by a broader workforce managing increasingly complex care. Further research should assess the safety, quality, and system impacts of ARRS roles.

Key findings

Why it matters

This study examined workload in English primary care and found that ARRS roles were less likely than GPs to manage consultations for dementia. It provides no information on treating, curing, or preventing Alzheimer's disease.

Study details

How this study scored 48/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 1 of 4; Study design 7 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 3 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 0 of 7; Citations per year 0 of 5; Impact for its field and year 0 of 6; Cited by studies here 0 of 6; Still being cited 0 of 4; Senior author's track record 2 of 4; Institution's track record 1 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. Total 48 of 100.48 of 100 points earned52 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a cohort study following people over time. Scored zero for randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (The British journal of general practice : the journal of the Royal College of General Practitioners)
Journal's citation record 1 / 4 British Journal of General Practice: journal h-index 124 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 7 / 12 A cohort study following people over time
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 2 / 4 986 participants
Effect reported 3 / 3 Effect reported with a statistic (interval, p-value, ratio or similar)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 0 / 7 Cited 0 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-17)
Citations per year 0 / 5 0.0 citations a year over 2 year(s) since 2026
Impact for its field and year 0 / 6 Cited 0.0× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 0 / 6 No other study in this library cites it
Still being cited 0 / 4 Cited 0 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 2 / 4 Last-listed author Maria Theresa Redaniel: h-index 22 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 1 / 3 University of Bristol: institution h-index 1,259 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 6 institution(s) in 2 countries
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 41730680)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Total 48 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Jialan, H., Jonathan, E. P., Nathan, K. M., Hugh, M., Chris, S., Nicola, W., et al. (2026). Consultation complexity and professionals consulted: a retrospective cohort study in English primary care. The British journal of general practice : the journal of the Royal College of General Practitioners. https://doi.org/10.3399/bjgp.2025.0670

Vancouver

Jialan H, Jonathan EP, Nathan KM, Hugh M, Chris S, Nicola W, et al. Consultation complexity and professionals consulted: a retrospective cohort study in English primary care. The British journal of general practice : the journal of the Royal College of General Practitioners. 2026. doi:10.3399/bjgp.2025.0670. PMID: 41730680.

BibTeX

@article{jialan2026-41730680,
  author  = {Jialan, Hong and Jonathan, Edwards Peter and Nathan, Kashyap Mavin and Hugh, McLeod and Chris, Salisbury and Nicola, Walsh and Ben, Bennett and Ward Isobel, L. and others},
  title   = {{Consultation complexity and professionals consulted: a retrospective cohort study in English primary care}},
  journal = {The British journal of general practice : the journal of the Royal College of General Practitioners},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.3399/bjgp.2025.0670},
  pmid    = {41730680},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.3399/bjgp.2025.0670}
}

Related studies in Health systems and care delivery

Similar studies

More on Health systems and care delivery

See all studies in Health systems and care delivery →