Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 53 out of 100. Long-term cohort studies

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

Background Fibroblast growth factor 23 is an emerging vascular biomarker, recently associated with cerebral small vessel disease and poor cognition in patients on dialysis. It also interacts with klotho, an anti-aging and cognition enhancing protein. Objective To determine if circulating Fibroblast growth factor 23 (FGF23) is associated with new-onset cognitive outcomes in a community-based cohort of cognitively healthy adults with long-term follow-up.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

McGrath, E. R., Himali, J. J., Levy, D., Conner, S. C., Pase, M. P., Abraham, C. R., et al. (2019). Circulating fibroblast growth factor 23 levels and incident dementia: The Framingham heart study. PloS one. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0213321

Vancouver

McGrath ER, Himali JJ, Levy D, Conner SC, Pase MP, Abraham CR, et al. Circulating fibroblast growth factor 23 levels and incident dementia: The Framingham heart study. PloS one. 2019. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0213321. PMID: 30830941.

BibTeX

@article{mcgrath2019-30830941,
  author  = {McGrath, E. R. and Himali, J. J. and Levy, D. and Conner, S. C. and Pase, M. P. and Abraham, C. R. and Courchesne, P. and Satizabal, C. L. and others},
  title   = {{Circulating fibroblast growth factor 23 levels and incident dementia: The Framingham heart study}},
  journal = {PloS one},
  year    = {2019},
  doi     = {10.1371/journal.pone.0213321},
  pmid    = {30830941},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0213321}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

In a community-based group of older adults, this study examined whether blood levels of fibroblast growth factor 23 (FGF23) were linked to new cases of dementia or cognitive problems. It is about a possible risk marker and does not test any treatment, cure, or prevention.

Study details

How this study scored 53/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 4 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 2 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 2 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 4 of 7; Citations per year 2 of 5; Impact for its field and year 3 of 6; Cited by studies here 1 of 6; Still being cited 2 of 4; Senior author's track record 4 of 4; Institution's track record 3 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. Total 53 of 100.53 of 100 points earned47 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (PloS one)
Journal's citation record 4 / 4 PLoS ONE: journal h-index 594 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 2 / 5 2019 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 2 / 3 Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 4 / 7 Cited 51 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 2 / 5 5.7 citations a year over 9 year(s) since 2019
Impact for its field and year 3 / 6 Cited 4.2× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 1 / 6 Cited by 1 other studies in this library
Still being cited 2 / 4 Cited 20 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 4 / 4 Last-listed author Sudha S. Seshadri: h-index 148 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 3 / 3 Harvard University: institution h-index 3,235 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 7 institution(s) in 2 countries
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 30830941)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Total 53 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

1 study in the alzhub library lists this one in its references.

Related studies in Long-term cohort studies

Also tagged “biobank”

1,084 studies in the library carry the topic tag “biobank”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,084 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Long-term cohort studies

See all studies in Long-term cohort studies →