Home › Research › Getting a diagnosis
Associations of self- and informant-reported functional impairment with cognitive performance and incident dementia
Yaqing Gao, Paola Zaninotto, Andrew Steptoe. The Journal of Prevention of Alzheimer s Disease, 2026-01-18
Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies
Self- and informant-reported ADL and IADL impairments were examined at overall and item levels. Informant-reported, but not self-reported, impairments were consistently associated with poorer cognition across domains, particularly executive function (informant-reported ADL: β = –0.71 SD, 95% CI –0.89 to –0.53) and memory (informant-reported IADL: β = –0.46 SD, 95% CI –0.60 to –0.32), and higher dementia risk (ADL: HR = 3.13, 95% CI 1.23 to 7.96; IADL: HR = 5.00, 95% CI 2.40 to 10.43). These findings should be interpreted in the context of a population-based sample with attrition.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Gao, Y., Zaninotto, P., & Steptoe, A. (2026). Associations of self- and informant-reported functional impairment with cognitive performance and incident dementia. The Journal of Prevention of Alzheimer s Disease. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.tjpad.2026.100482
Vancouver
Gao Y, Zaninotto P, Steptoe A. Associations of self- and informant-reported functional impairment with cognitive performance and incident dementia. The Journal of Prevention of Alzheimer s Disease. 2026. doi:10.1016/j.tjpad.2026.100482. PMID: 41548525.
BibTeX
@article{gao2026-41548525,
author = {Gao, Yaqing and Zaninotto, Paola and Steptoe, Andrew},
title = {{Associations of self- and informant-reported functional impairment with cognitive performance and incident dementia}},
journal = {The Journal of Prevention of Alzheimer s Disease},
year = {2026},
doi = {10.1016/j.tjpad.2026.100482},
pmid = {41548525},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.tjpad.2026.100482}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Self- and informant-reported ADL and IADL impairments were examined at overall and item levels.
- Informant-reported, but not self-reported, impairments were consistently associated with poorer cognition across domains, particularly executive function (informant-reported ADL: β = –0.71 SD, 95% CI –0.89 to –0.53) and memory (informant-reported IADL: β = –0.46 SD, 95% CI –0.60 to –0.32), and higher dementia risk (ADL: HR = 3.13, 95% CI 1.23 to 7.96; IADL: HR = 5.00, 95% CI 2.40 to 10.43).
- These findings should be interpreted in the context of a population-based sample with attrition.
Why it matters
Informant-reported, but not self-reported, functional impairments were associated with poorer cognition and higher dementia risk. This may help identify people at risk, but it does not offer a treatment, cure, or prevention for Alzheimer's disease.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Getting a diagnosis →
Study details
- Study designlongitudinal study
- Participants1,050
- Effect sizeHR = 3.13; HR = 5.00
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 57/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a longitudinal study following the same people over time. Scored zero for randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (The Journal of Prevention of Alzheimer s Disease) |
| Journal's citation record | 0 / 4 | The Journal of Prevention of Alzheimer s Disease: journal h-index 63 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 7 / 12 | A longitudinal study following the same people over time |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 5 / 5 | 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 3 / 4 | 1,050 participants |
| Effect reported | 3 / 3 | Effect reported with a statistic (interval, p-value, ratio or similar) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 1 / 7 | Cited 2 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 1 / 5 | 1.0 citations a year over 2 year(s) since 2026 |
| Impact for its field and year | 4 / 6 | Cited 9.5× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 0 / 6 | No other study in this library cites it |
| Still being cited | 0 / 4 | Cited 2 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 4 / 4 | Last-listed author Andrew Steptoe: h-index 167 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 2 / 3 | University College London: institution h-index 2,029 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 0 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 1 institution(s) in 1 country — scores zero (affiliation lists can be incomplete) |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 41548525) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Total | 57 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
- DOI: 10.1016/j.tjpad.2026.100482
- PubMed: 41548525
- Original source →
- Free full text: The Journal of Prevention of Alzheimer s Disease →
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 13.
Related studies in Getting a diagnosis
Also tagged “examination”
840 studies in the library carry the topic tag “examination”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 840 tagged studies.