Home › Research › Biomarkers
Associations of plasma phosphorylated tau181 and neurofilament light chain with brain amyloid burden and cognition in objectively defined subtle cognitive decline patients
Yanlu Huang, Yuehua Li, Fang Xie, Qihao Guo. CNS Neuroscience & Therapeutics, 2022-09-08
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
After adjustment, only plasma p‐tau181 and NfL were significantly elevated in Aβ+ Obj‐SCD participants compared to Aβ− NC group. Elevated p‐tau181 was associated with brain amyloid accumulation, worse cognitive performance (visual episodic memory, executive function, and visuospatial function), and hippocampal atrophy. These associations mainly occurred in Aβ+ individuals. In contrast, higher NfL was correlated with brain amyloid burden and verbal memory decline. These associations predominantly occurred in Aβ− individuals. The adjusted diagnostic model combining p‐tau181 and NfL levels showed the best performance in identifying Aβ+ Obj‐SCD from Aβ− NC [area under the curve (AUC) = 0.814], which did not differ from the adjusted p‐tau181 model (AUC = 0.763). Our findings highlight that plasma p‐tau181, alone or combined with NfL, contributes to identifying high‐risk AD populations.
Key findings
- After adjustment, only plasma p‐tau181 and NfL were significantly elevated in Aβ+ Obj‐SCD participants compared to Aβ− NC group.
- Elevated p‐tau181 was associated with brain amyloid accumulation, worse cognitive performance (visual episodic memory, executive function, and visuospatial function), and hippocampal atrophy.
- These associations mainly occurred in Aβ+ individuals.
- In contrast, higher NfL was correlated with brain amyloid burden and verbal memory decline.
- These associations predominantly occurred in Aβ− individuals.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Participants234
- Effect sizeAUC = 0.763
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 54/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 30 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 54 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (CNS Neuroscience & Therapeutics) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2022 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 2 / 4 | 234 participants |
| Effect reported | 3 / 3 | Effect reported with a statistic (interval, p-value, ratio or similar) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 1 / 2 | Not in PubMed, but has a DOI |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 30 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 30 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 54 out of 100. |
| Total | 54 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Huang, Y., Li, Y., Xie, F., & Guo, Q. (2022). Associations of plasma phosphorylated tau181 and neurofilament light chain with brain amyloid burden and cognition in objectively defined subtle cognitive decline patients. CNS Neuroscience & Therapeutics. https://doi.org/10.1111/cns.13962
Vancouver
Huang Y, Li Y, Xie F, Guo Q. Associations of plasma phosphorylated tau181 and neurofilament light chain with brain amyloid burden and cognition in objectively defined subtle cognitive decline patients. CNS Neuroscience & Therapeutics. 2022. doi:10.1111/cns.13962.
BibTeX
@article{huang2022-1318fde0,
author = {Huang, Yanlu and Li, Yuehua and Xie, Fang and Guo, Qihao},
title = {{Associations of plasma phosphorylated tau181 and neurofilament light chain with brain amyloid burden and cognition in objectively defined subtle cognitive decline patients}},
journal = {CNS Neuroscience \& Therapeutics},
year = {2022},
doi = {10.1111/cns.13962},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1111/cns.13962}
}