Home › Research › Biomarkers
Association of plasma biomarkers with amyloid and tau PET in pre-dementia stages
Allal Boutajangout, Arjun V Masurkar, Ricardo Osorio, Ludovic Debure, Mobeena Ghuman, Wajiha Ahmed, Alok Vedvyas, Elizabeth Pirraglia et al.. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association, 2026-05
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
Comparing those having MCI, both CU and SCD participants had significantly lower amyloid PET standardized uptake value ratio (SUVR) (p < 0.001; p = 0.005). Higher amyloid PET SUVR was significantly associated with higher pTau181 (p = 0.001) and a higher pTau181/Aβ42 ratio (p < 0.001). Higher tau PET SUVR was associated with lower plasma Aβ42 (p = 0.020), older age (p = 0.005), higher GFAP (p = 0.020), and lower interleukin-8 levels (p < 0.001). Our study supports plasma biomarker monitoring of at-risk patients at various stages of pre-dementia.
Key findings
- Comparing those having MCI, both CU and SCD participants had significantly lower amyloid PET standardized uptake value ratio (SUVR) (p < 0.001; p = 0.005).
- Higher amyloid PET SUVR was significantly associated with higher pTau181 (p = 0.001) and a higher pTau181/Aβ42 ratio (p < 0.001).
- Higher tau PET SUVR was associated with lower plasma Aβ42 (p = 0.020), older age (p = 0.005), higher GFAP (p = 0.020), and lower interleukin-8 levels (p < 0.001).
- Our study supports plasma biomarker monitoring of at-risk patients at various stages of pre-dementia.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Participants66
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 55/100
Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 31 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 55 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 5 / 5 | 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 1 / 4 | 66 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 42084083) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 31 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 31 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 55 out of 100. |
| Total | 55 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Boutajangout, A., Masurkar, A. V., Osorio, R., Debure, L., Ghuman, M., Ahmed, W., et al. (2026). Association of plasma biomarkers with amyloid and tau PET in pre-dementia stages. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. https://doi.org/10.1002/alz.71441
Vancouver
Boutajangout A, Masurkar AV, Osorio R, Debure L, Ghuman M, Ahmed W, et al. Association of plasma biomarkers with amyloid and tau PET in pre-dementia stages. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. 2026. doi:10.1002/alz.71441. PMID: 42084083.
BibTeX
@article{boutajangout2026-42084083,
author = {Boutajangout, Allal and Masurkar, Arjun V and Osorio, Ricardo and Debure, Ludovic and Ghuman, Mobeena and Ahmed, Wajiha and Vedvyas, Alok and Pirraglia, Elizabeth and others},
title = {{Association of plasma biomarkers with amyloid and tau PET in pre-dementia stages}},
journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association},
year = {2026},
doi = {10.1002/alz.71441},
pmid = {42084083},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1002/alz.71441}
}