Home › Research › Biomarkers
Association of APOE ɛ4 and Plasma p-tau181 with Preclinical Alzheimer’s Disease and Longitudinal Change in Hippocampus Function
Alireza Salami, Rolf Adolfsson, Micael Andersson, Kaj Blennow, Anders Lundquist, Annelie Nordin Adolfsson, Michael Schöll, Henrik Zetterberg et al.. Journal of Alzheimer's Disease, 2022-02-01
Topic: Genetics and APOE
Increased p-tau181 was observed for both ɛ4 carriers and non-carriers close to AD onset, but exclusively for ɛ4 carriers in the early preclinical groups (7- and 13-years pre-AD). In ɛ4 carriers, longitudinal p-tau181 increase was paralleled by elevated local hippocampal connectivity at rest and subsequent reduction of hippocampus encoding-related activity. Our findings support an association of APOE ɛ4 and p-tau181 with preclinical AD and hippocampus functioning.
Key findings
- Increased p-tau181 was observed for both ɛ4 carriers and non-carriers close to AD onset, but exclusively for ɛ4 carriers in the early preclinical groups (7- and 13-years pre-AD).
- In ɛ4 carriers, longitudinal p-tau181 increase was paralleled by elevated local hippocampal connectivity at rest and subsequent reduction of hippocampus encoding-related activity.
- Our findings support an association of APOE ɛ4 and p-tau181 with preclinical AD and hippocampus functioning.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Study designlongitudinal study
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 55/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a longitudinal study following the same people over time. Scored zero for sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 31 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 55 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of Alzheimer's Disease) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 7 / 12 | A longitudinal study following the same people over time |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2022 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 1 / 2 | Not in PubMed, but has a DOI |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 31 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 31 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 55 out of 100. |
| Total | 55 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Salami, A., Adolfsson, R., Andersson, M., Blennow, K., Lundquist, A., Adolfsson, A. N., et al. (2022). Association of APOE ɛ4 and Plasma p-tau181 with Preclinical Alzheimer’s Disease and Longitudinal Change in Hippocampus Function. Journal of Alzheimer's Disease. https://doi.org/10.3233/jad-210673
Vancouver
Salami A, Adolfsson R, Andersson M, Blennow K, Lundquist A, Adolfsson AN, et al. Association of APOE ɛ4 and Plasma p-tau181 with Preclinical Alzheimer’s Disease and Longitudinal Change in Hippocampus Function. Journal of Alzheimer's Disease. 2022. doi:10.3233/jad-210673.
BibTeX
@article{salami2022-2b804420,
author = {Salami, Alireza and Adolfsson, Rolf and Andersson, Micael and Blennow, Kaj and Lundquist, Anders and Adolfsson, Annelie Nordin and Schöll, Michael and Zetterberg, Henrik and others},
title = {{Association of APOE ɛ4 and Plasma p-tau181 with Preclinical Alzheimer’s Disease and Longitudinal Change in Hippocampus Function}},
journal = {Journal of Alzheimer's Disease},
year = {2022},
doi = {10.3233/jad-210673},
url = {https://doi.org/10.3233/jad-210673}
}
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “apoe2”
266 studies in the library carry the topic tag “apoe2”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 266 tagged studies.