Home › Research › Biomarkers
Plasma Biomarkers Differentiate Parkinson’s Disease From Atypical Parkinsonism Syndromes
Chin‐Hsien Lin, Shieh-Yueh Yang, H. E. Horng, Che‐Chuan Yang, Jen-Jie Chieh, Hsin-Hsien Chen, Bing-Hsien Liu, Ming‐Jang Chiu. Frontiers in Aging Neuroscience, 2018-04-27
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
Plasma a-synuclein level was significantly increased in patients with PD and APS when compared with controls and FTD without parkinsonism (p<0.01). Total tau and p-Tau181 were significantly increased in all disease groups compared to controls, especially in patients with FTD (p<0.01). A multivariate and receiver operating characteristic (ROC) curve analysis revealed that a cut-off value for Abeta42 multiplied by p-Tau181 for discriminating patients with FTD from patients with PD and APS was 92.66 (pg/ml)2, with an area under the curve (AUC) of 0.932. An a-synuclein cut-off of 0.1977 pg/ml could separate FTD-P from FTD without parkinsonism (AUC 0.947). In patients with predominant parkinsonism, an a-synuclein cut-off of 1.388 pg/ml differentiated patients with PD from those with APS (AUC 0.87). Our results suggest that integrated plasma biomarkers improve the differential diagnosis of PD from APS (PSP, CBD, DLB and FTD-P).
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Lin, C., Yang, S.-Y., Horng, H. E., Yang, C., Chieh, J.-J., Chen, H.-H., et al. (2018). Plasma Biomarkers Differentiate Parkinson’s Disease From Atypical Parkinsonism Syndromes. Frontiers in Aging Neuroscience. https://doi.org/10.3389/fnagi.2018.00123
Vancouver
Lin C, Yang S.-Y, Horng HE, Yang C, Chieh J.-J, Chen H.-H, et al. Plasma Biomarkers Differentiate Parkinson’s Disease From Atypical Parkinsonism Syndromes. Frontiers in Aging Neuroscience. 2018. doi:10.3389/fnagi.2018.00123. PMID: 29755341.
BibTeX
@article{lin2018-29755341,
author = {Lin, Chin‐Hsien and Yang, Shieh-Yueh and Horng, H. E. and Yang, Che‐Chuan and Chieh, Jen-Jie and Chen, Hsin-Hsien and Liu, Bing-Hsien and Chiu, Ming‐Jang},
title = {{Plasma Biomarkers Differentiate Parkinson’s Disease From Atypical Parkinsonism Syndromes}},
journal = {Frontiers in Aging Neuroscience},
year = {2018},
doi = {10.3389/fnagi.2018.00123},
pmid = {29755341},
url = {https://doi.org/10.3389/fnagi.2018.00123}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 8 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Plasma a-synuclein level was significantly increased in patients with PD and APS when compared with controls and FTD without parkinsonism (p<0.01).
- Total tau and p-Tau181 were significantly increased in all disease groups compared to controls, especially in patients with FTD (p<0.01).
- A multivariate and receiver operating characteristic (ROC) curve analysis revealed that a cut-off value for Abeta42 multiplied by p-Tau181 for discriminating patients with FTD from patients with PD and APS was 92.66 (pg/ml)2, with an area under the curve (AUC) of 0.932.
- An a-synuclein cut-off of 0.1977 pg/ml could separate FTD-P from FTD without parkinsonism (AUC 0.947).
- In patients with predominant parkinsonism, an a-synuclein cut-off of 1.388 pg/ml differentiated patients with PD from those with APS (AUC 0.87).
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Participants204
- Effect sizeAUC 0.947; AUC 0.87
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 55/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 32 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 55 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Frontiers in Aging Neuroscience) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 2 / 5 | 2018 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 2 / 4 | 204 participants |
| Effect reported | 3 / 3 | Effect reported with a statistic (interval, p-value, ratio or similar) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 29755341) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Points | 32 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 32 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 55 out of 100. |
| Total | 55 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also in Biomarkers
224 studies in the library are filed under Biomarkers with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Biomarkers hub.