Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 63 out of 100. Cognitive tests and assessment

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Poor vitamin D nutrition is linked with dementia, but vitamin D has not been tested in a randomized controlled trial (RCT) in Alzheimer's disease (AD). Nasal insulin acutely improves cognition and vitamin D upregulates insulin receptor expression and enhances insulin action. In an RCT we examined the effect of high-dose vitamin D followed by nasal insulin on memory and disability in mild-moderate AD. 63 community-dwelling individuals aged > 60 were recruited; 32 with mild-moderate disease (Folstein Mini-Mental State Examination [MMSE] score 12-24) met entry criteria and were randomized.

Key findings

Why it matters

This small randomized trial gave high-dose vitamin D followed by nasal insulin to 32 people with mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease. It does not report that this combination prevents or cures Alzheimer's disease.

Study details

How this study scored 63/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 2 of 4; Study design 11 of 12; Strength of evidence 5 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 1 of 2; Times cited 5 of 7; Citations per year 3 of 5; Impact for its field and year 3 of 6; Cited by studies here 2 of 6; Still being cited 2 of 4; Senior author's track record 3 of 4; Institution's track record 1 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. Total 63 of 100.63 of 100 points earned37 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a randomised controlled trial. Scored zero for sample size and effect reported because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD)
Journal's citation record 2 / 4 Journal of Alzheimer s Disease: journal h-index 218 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 11 / 12 A randomised controlled trial
Strength of evidence 5 / 5 Rated “high” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2011 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (pubmed indexes it as a clinical or observational study)
Randomised / blinded 1 / 2 Randomised (as stated in the record)
Times cited 5 / 7 Cited 153 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 3 / 5 9.0 citations a year over 17 year(s) since 2011
Impact for its field and year 3 / 6 Cited 6.0× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 2 / 6 Cited by 6 other studies in this library
Still being cited 2 / 4 Cited 18 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 3 / 4 Last-listed author Leonard C. Harrison: h-index 82 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 1 / 3 The University of Melbourne: institution h-index 1,342 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 4 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 21694461)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Total 63 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Stein, M. S., Scherer, S. C., Ladd, K. S., & Harrison, L. C. (2011). A randomized controlled trial of high-dose vitamin D2 followed by intranasal insulin in Alzheimer's disease. Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD. https://doi.org/10.3233/jad-2011-110149

Vancouver

Stein MS, Scherer SC, Ladd KS, Harrison LC. A randomized controlled trial of high-dose vitamin D2 followed by intranasal insulin in Alzheimer's disease. Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD. 2011. doi:10.3233/jad-2011-110149. PMID: 21694461.

BibTeX

@article{stein2011-21694461,
  author  = {Stein, M. S. and Scherer, S. C. and Ladd, K. S. and Harrison, L. C.},
  title   = {{A randomized controlled trial of high-dose vitamin D2 followed by intranasal insulin in Alzheimer's disease}},
  journal = {Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD},
  year    = {2011},
  doi     = {10.3233/jad-2011-110149},
  pmid    = {21694461},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.3233/jad-2011-110149}
}

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

6 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.

Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment

Also tagged “double-blind”

783 studies in the library carry the topic tag “double-blind”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 783 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Cognitive tests and assessment

See all studies in Cognitive tests and assessment →