Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

⚠ Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 16 out of 100. How common it is

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

ObjectiveTo externally replicate and extend prior findings across two structurally independent healthcare data sources, evaluating whether predominant use of antihypertensive medications that stimulate versus inhibit angiotensin II type 2 and type 4 receptor signaling is associated with risk of incident ADRD. After adjustment, predominant use of stimulating medications was associated with lower ADRD risk versus inhibiting medications in both cohorts (Medicare: HR, 0.92; 95% CI, 0.90-0.93; P < .001; VUMC SD: HR, 0.92; 95% CI, 0.85-0.99; P = .03). Conclusions and RelevanceAcross two structurally independent data sources, the predominant use of antihypertensive medications that stimulate angiotensin II type 2 and type 4 receptor signaling was associated with a modestly lower risk of incident ADRD compared with predominantly inhibiting agents. By replicating in two distinct data environments, these findings extend prior single-source pharmacoepidemiologic evidence and support evaluation of receptor-targeted antihypertensive strategies for cognitive outcomes in randomized comparative-effectiveness trials.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Tiwari, A., Chen, R., Tan, Y., Yan, Y., Wen, Z., Wei, W.-Q., et al. (2026). Antihypertensive Medication Class and Incident Alzheimers Disease and Related Dementias: External Replication Across Two Independent Healthcare Data Sources-the Vanderbilt EHR Synthetic Derivative and US Medicare Claims. medRxiv (preprint). https://doi.org/10.64898/2026.09.11.26362859

Vancouver

Tiwari A, Chen R, Tan Y, Yan Y, Wen Z, Wei W.-Q, et al. Antihypertensive Medication Class and Incident Alzheimers Disease and Related Dementias: External Replication Across Two Independent Healthcare Data Sources-the Vanderbilt EHR Synthetic Derivative and US Medicare Claims. medRxiv (preprint). 2026. doi:10.64898/2026.09.11.26362859.

BibTeX

@article{tiwari2026-334d2e2d,
  author  = {Tiwari, A. and Chen, R. and Tan, Y. and Yan, Y. and Wen, Z. and Wei, W.-Q. and Zhong, X. and Li and others},
  title   = {{Antihypertensive Medication Class and Incident Alzheimers Disease and Related Dementias: External Replication Across Two Independent Healthcare Data Sources-the Vanderbilt EHR Synthetic Derivative and US Medicare Claims}},
  journal = {medRxiv (preprint)},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.64898/2026.09.11.26362859},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.64898/2026.09.11.26362859}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

Across two large healthcare databases, people who mainly took blood pressure medications that stimulate certain angiotensin receptors had a modestly lower risk of developing Alzheimer's disease and related dementias than those taking inhibiting types. This is observational evidence only, and the authors say randomized trials are needed before any treatment recommendations can be made.

Study details

How this study scored 16/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 2 of 10; Journal's citation record 0 of 4; Study design 7 of 12; Strength of evidence 5 of 5; Peer-review validation 4 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 4 of 4; Effect reported 2 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 0 of 7; Citations per year 0 of 5; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here 0 of 6; Still being cited 0 of 4; Senior author's track record 2 of 4; Institution's track record 1 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 1 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 1 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 39 of the 94 points it could be judged on, which is 41 of 100. Raw total 41 of 100, shown as 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed research article.raw total 41 of 100capped at 16 — hatched points do not count

Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. It scored 41 on the same rubric, but non-peer-reviewed sources are capped at 16, so it shows as 16. Scored zero for randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on impact for its field and year, so that was left out: it earned 39 of the 94 points we could judge it on, which is 41 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 2 / 10 Tier 4 — not a peer-reviewed journal (medRxiv (preprint))
Journal's citation record 0 / 4 Not a journal article, so the journal's record does not count
Study design 7 / 12 A cohort study following people over time
Strength of evidence 5 / 5 Rated “high” in our summary
Peer-review validation 4 / 10 Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. Hosted on a preprint server.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 4 / 4 1,596,034 participants
Effect reported 2 / 3 Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 0 / 7 Cited 0 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 0 / 5 0.0 citations a year over 2 year(s) since 2026
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here 0 / 6 No other study in this library cites it
Still being cited 0 / 4 Cited 0 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 2 / 4 Last-listed author Bingshan Li: h-index 49 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 1 / 3 Emory University: institution h-index 1,360 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 1 / 3 OpenAlex lists 3 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 1 / 2 Not in PubMed, but has a DOI
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 39 / 94 Scored on 19 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 39 of the 94 points we could judge it on is 41 out of 100.
Total 41 / 100 Capped to 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed article.

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Related studies in How common it is

Also tagged “double-blind”

783 studies in the library carry the topic tag “double-blind”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 783 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on How common it is

See all studies in How common it is →