Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

⚠ Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 16 out of 100. Risk factors

Topic: Brain imaging, connectivity and assessment

Quantitative measures for tracking functional health have generally been lacking. Intrinsic capacity (IC) has been proposed as an appropriate measure, but its metrics have been derived in small datasets and sparse longitudinal data. Using harmonized measures of cognition, locomotion, sensory function, vitality, and psychological well-being from 501,615 UK Biobank participants and followed for a median of 15.5 years, we derived domain-specific and composite IC scores. We examined associations with incident disease, cause-specific mortality, multimorbidity, lifestyle and socioeconomic factors, and multi-omic profiles from Olink proteomics, NMR metabolomics, clinical biochemistry, and blood-cell traits. We found that composite IC declined non-linearly with age, and within-person decline was steeper than the cross-sectional age measures. Participants with greater baseline morbidity, those who subsequently developed incident disease, and those who died earlier in follow-up showed lower IC trajectories across adulthood. The IC domains were only modestly correlated with one another, supporting multidimensionality, yet higher overall IC was associated with lower risk of most diseases examined. The dominant IC domain varied by endpoint, with cognition informative for dementia, sensory function for hearing loss, psychological capacity for depression, locomotion for osteoarthritis, and vitality for cardiometabolic outcomes. IC was also associated cross-sectionally with physical activity, insomnia, smoking, medication burden, and socioeconomic disadvantage. More proteins were found predictive for vitality, and enrichment converged on immune/inflammatory and metabolic pathways. Blood-based surrogates recapitulated part of the phenotypic signal, particularly for vitality. Overall, this IC framework captures longitudinal health trajectories and broad disease vulnerability in a large middle- to older-aged cohort and supports IC as a clinically meaningful, multidomain phenotype of aging and identifies blood-based correlates that may facilitate at-scale future monitoring of aging-related function declines.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Zhai, T., Babu, M., Fuentealba, M., Al Dajani, S. A., Gladyshev, V. N., Furman, D., et al. (2026). A multidomain intrinsic capacity score tracks longitudinal health trajectories in the UK Biobank. medRxiv. https://doi.org/10.64898/2026.04.10.26350621

Vancouver

Zhai T, Babu M, Fuentealba M, Al Dajani SA, Gladyshev VN, Furman D, et al. A multidomain intrinsic capacity score tracks longitudinal health trajectories in the UK Biobank. medRxiv. 2026. doi:10.64898/2026.04.10.26350621.

BibTeX

@article{zhai2026-8dfce9e2,
  author  = {Zhai, T. and Babu, M. and Fuentealba, M. and Al Dajani, S. A. and Gladyshev, V. N. and Furman, D. and Snyder, M. P.},
  title   = {{A multidomain intrinsic capacity score tracks longitudinal health trajectories in the UK Biobank}},
  journal = {medRxiv},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.64898/2026.04.10.26350621},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.64898/2026.04.10.26350621}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 7 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 16/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 2 of 10; Journal's citation record 0 of 4; Study design 4 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 4 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 1 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 19 of the 62 points it could be judged on, which is 31 of 100. Raw total 31 of 100, shown as 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed research article.raw total 31 of 100capped at 16 — hatched points do not count

Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. It scored 31 on the same rubric, but non-peer-reviewed sources are capped at 16, so it shows as 16. Scored zero for sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 19 of the 62 points we could judge it on, which is 31 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 2 / 10 Tier 4 — not a peer-reviewed journal (medRxiv)
Journal's citation record 0 / 4 Not a journal article, so the journal's record does not count
Study design 4 / 12 A snapshot of people at one point in time
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 4 / 10 Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. Hosted on a preprint server.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 1 / 2 Not in PubMed, but has a DOI
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 19 / 62 Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 19 of the 62 points we could judge it on is 31 out of 100.
Total 31 / 100 Capped to 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed article.

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Risk factors

Also tagged “deaths”

109 studies in the library carry the topic tag “deaths”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 109 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Risk factors

See all studies in Risk factors →