Home › Research › Treatments
Initial Experience with Lecanemab and Lessons Learned in 71 Patients in a Regional Medical Center
Shields LBE, Hust H, Cooley SD, Cooper GE, Hart RN, Dennis BC, Freeman SW, Cain JF et al.. The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease, 2024-01-01
Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety
Results The mean age was 72 years (49-90 years), and 44 (62%) patients were female.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Shields, L. B. E., Hust, H., Cooley, S. D., Cooper, G. E., Hart, R. N., Dennis, B. C., et al. (2024). Initial Experience with Lecanemab and Lessons Learned in 71 Patients in a Regional Medical Center. The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease. https://doi.org/10.14283/jpad.2024.159
Vancouver
Shields LBE, Hust H, Cooley SD, Cooper GE, Hart RN, Dennis BC, et al. Initial Experience with Lecanemab and Lessons Learned in 71 Patients in a Regional Medical Center. The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease. 2024. doi:10.14283/jpad.2024.159. PMID: 39559868.
BibTeX
@article{shields2024-39559868,
author = {Shields, L. B. E. and Hust, H. and Cooley, S. D. and Cooper, G. E. and Hart, R. N. and Dennis, B. C. and Freeman, S. W. and Cain, J. F. and others},
title = {{Initial Experience with Lecanemab and Lessons Learned in 71 Patients in a Regional Medical Center}},
journal = {The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease},
year = {2024},
doi = {10.14283/jpad.2024.159},
pmid = {39559868},
url = {https://doi.org/10.14283/jpad.2024.159}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Results The mean age was 72 years (49-90 years), and 44 (62%) patients were female.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Treatments →
Study details
- Participants71
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 52/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 30 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 52 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2024 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 1 / 4 | 71 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 39559868) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Points | 30 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 30 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 52 out of 100. |
| Total | 52 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Treatments
Also tagged “deaths”
109 studies in the library carry the topic tag “deaths”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 109 tagged studies.