Home › Research › Risk factors
Whitepaper: Defining and investigating cognitive reserve, brain reserve, and brain maintenance
Yaakov Stern, Eider M. Arenaza‐Urquijo, David Bartrés‐Faz, Sylvie Belleville, Marc Cantilon, Gaël Chételat, Michael Ewers, Nicolai Franzmeier, Gerd Kempermann, William S. Kremen, Ozioma C. Okonkwo, Nikolaos Scarmeas, Anja Soldan, Chinedu Theresa Udeh‐Momoh, Michael Valenzuela, Prashanthi Vemuri, Eero Vuoksimaa, and the Reserve, Resilience and Protective Factors PIA Empirical Definitions and Conceptual Frameworks Workgroup. Alzheimer s & Dementia, 2020
Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies
Several concepts, which in the aggregate get might be used to account for "resilience" against age- and disease-related changes, have been the subject of much research. These include brain reserve, cognitive reserve, and brain maintenance. However, different investigators have use these terms in different ways, and there has never been an attempt to arrive at consensus on the definition of these concepts. Furthermore, there has been confusion regarding the measurement of these constructs and the appropriate ways to apply them to research. Therefore the reserve, resilience, and protective factors professional interest area, established under the auspices of the Alzheimer's Association, established a whitepaper workgroup to develop consensus definitions for cognitive reserve, brain reserve, and brain maintenance. The workgroup also evaluated measures that have been used to implement these concepts in research settings and developed guidelines for research that explores or utilizes these concepts. The workgroup hopes that this whitepaper will form a reference point for researchers in this area and facilitate research by supplying a common language.
Why it matters
Describes an Alzheimer's Association workgroup's effort to agree on definitions for cognitive reserve, brain reserve and brain maintenance, ideas used to account for resilience against age- and disease-related changes. It also reviews how these have been measured and gives guidelines for research.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Risk factors, ranked →
How this study scored 39/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on strength of evidence, journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 23 of the 59 points we could judge it on, which is 39 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Alzheimer s & Dementia) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | — / 5 | No evidence rating recorded — left out of this score |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 2 / 5 | 2020 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (OpenAlex dates this DOI to 2018, the record says 2020; OpenAlex values not used) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | 0 / 6 | No other study in this library cites it |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 30222945) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Points | 23 / 59 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 23 of the 59 points we could judge it on is 39 out of 100. |
| Total | 39 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 18 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Stern, Y., Arenaza‐Urquijo, E. M., Bartrés‐Faz, D., Belleville, S., Cantilon, M., Chételat, G., et al. (2020). Whitepaper: Defining and investigating cognitive reserve, brain reserve, and brain maintenance. Alzheimer s & Dementia. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jalz.2018.07.219
Vancouver
Stern Y, Arenaza‐Urquijo EM, Bartrés‐Faz D, Belleville S, Cantilon M, Chételat G, et al. Whitepaper: Defining and investigating cognitive reserve, brain reserve, and brain maintenance. Alzheimer s & Dementia. 2020. doi:10.1016/j.jalz.2018.07.219. PMID: 30222945.
BibTeX
@article{stern2020-30222945,
author = {Stern, Yaakov and Arenaza‐Urquijo, Eider M. and Bartrés‐Faz, David and Belleville, Sylvie and Cantilon, Marc and Chételat, Gaël and Ewers, Michael and Franzmeier, Nicolai and Kempermann, Gerd and Kremen, William S. and Okonkwo, Ozioma C. and Scarmeas, Nikolaos and Soldan, Anja and Udeh‐Momoh, Chinedu Theresa and Valenzuela, Michael and Vemuri, Prashanthi and Vuoksimaa, Eero and Reserve, the},
title = {{Whitepaper: Defining and investigating cognitive reserve, brain reserve, and brain maintenance}},
journal = {Alzheimer s \& Dementia},
year = {2020},
doi = {10.1016/j.jalz.2018.07.219},
pmid = {30222945},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jalz.2018.07.219}
}
Related studies in Risk factors
Also in Risk factors
356 studies in the library are filed under Risk factors with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Risk factors hub.