Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 42 out of 100. Long-term cohort studies

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

The transition from normal aging to mild cognitive impairment to Alzheimer disease (AD) is often indistinct. Imaging studies suggest early changes in posterior brain regions, including posterior temporoparietal and occipital cortex, but pathologic studies show initial changes in the medial temporal lobe with progressive neocortical involvement as cognition deteriorates. We evaluated the regional distribution of AD pathology in 41 elderly brain donors from the Framingham Heart Study who were cognitively intact, mildly impaired, or demented on the basis of probable AD.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

McKee, A. C., Au, R., Cabral, H. J., Kowall, N. W., Seshadri, S., Kubilus, C. A., et al. (2006). Visual association pathology in preclinical Alzheimer disease. Journal of neuropathology and experimental neurology. https://doi.org/10.1097/00005072-200606000-00010

Vancouver

McKee AC, Au R, Cabral HJ, Kowall NW, Seshadri S, Kubilus CA, et al. Visual association pathology in preclinical Alzheimer disease. Journal of neuropathology and experimental neurology. 2006. doi:10.1097/00005072-200606000-00010. PMID: 16783172.

BibTeX

@article{mckee2006-16783172,
  author  = {McKee, A. C. and Au, R. and Cabral, H. J. and Kowall, N. W. and Seshadri, S. and Kubilus, C. A. and Drake, J. and Wolf, P. A.},
  title   = {{Visual association pathology in preclinical Alzheimer disease}},
  journal = {Journal of neuropathology and experimental neurology},
  year    = {2006},
  doi     = {10.1097/00005072-200606000-00010},
  pmid    = {16783172},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1097/00005072-200606000-00010}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 8 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

This study examined the regional distribution of Alzheimer's disease pathology in brain donors who were cognitively intact, mildly impaired, or demented. It is a pathological study of 41 brain donors that describes where pathology appears but does not test any treatment, cure, or prevention.

Study details

How this study scored 42/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 2 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 5 of 7; Citations per year 2 of 5; Impact for its field and year 3 of 6; Cited by studies here 2 of 6; Still being cited 1 of 4; Senior author's track record 4 of 4; Institution's track record 1 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 1 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. Total 42 of 100.42 of 100 points earned58 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of neuropathology and experimental neurology)
Journal's citation record 2 / 4 Journal of Neuropathology & Experimental Neurology: journal h-index 239 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2006 — older than 20 years, still counted
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 5 / 7 Cited 165 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 2 / 5 7.5 citations a year over 22 year(s) since 2006
Impact for its field and year 3 / 6 Cited 5.3× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 2 / 6 Cited by 6 other studies in this library
Still being cited 1 / 4 Cited 9 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 4 / 4 Last-listed author Philip A. Wolf: h-index 149 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 1 / 3 Boston University: institution h-index 1,456 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 1 / 3 OpenAlex lists 3 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 16783172)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Total 42 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

May need a subscription OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 6 Feb 1020), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 14.

Later studies that cite this one

6 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.

Related studies in Long-term cohort studies

Also in Long-term cohort studies

54 studies in the library are filed under Long-term cohort studies with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Long-term cohort studies hub.

Similar studies

More on Long-term cohort studies

See all studies in Long-term cohort studies →