Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 81 out of 100. Prevention trials

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

Introduction Ubiquity of Alzheimer's disease (AD) coupled with relatively ineffectual pharmacologic treatments has spurred interest in nonpharmacologic lifestyle interventions for prevention or risk reduction. However, evidence of neuroplasticity notwithstanding, there are few scientifically rigorous, ecologically relevant brain training studies focused on building cognitive reserve in middle age to protect against cognitive decline. This pilot study will examine the ability of virtual reality (VR) cognitive training to improve cognition and cerebral blood flow (CBF) in middle-aged individuals at high AD risk due to parental history. Methods The design is an assessor-blind, parallel group, randomized controlled trial of VR cognitive-motor training in middle-aged adults with AD family history. The experimental group will be trained with adaptive "real-world" VR tasks targeting sustained and selective attention, working memory, covert rule deduction, and planning, while walking on a treadmill. One active control group will perform the VR tasks without treadmill walking; another will walk on a treadmill while watching scientific documentaries (nonspecific cognitive stimulation). A passive (waitlist) control group will not receive training. Training sessions will be 45 minutes, twice/week for 12 weeks. Primary outcomes are global cognition and CBF (from arterial spin labeling [ASL]) at baseline, immediately after training (training gain), and 3 months post-training (maintenance gain). We aim to recruit 125 participants, including 20 passive controls and 35 in the other groups. Discussion Current pharmacologic therapies are for symptomatic AD patients, whereas nonpharmacologic training is administrable before symptom onset. Emerging evidence suggests that cognitive training improves cognitive function. However, a more ecologically valid cognitive-motor VR setting that better mimics complex daily activities may augment transfer of trained skills. VR training has benefited clinical cohorts, but benefit in asymptomatic high-risk individuals is unknown. If effective, this trial may help define a prophylactic regimen for AD, adaptable for home-based application in high-risk individuals.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 81/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 11 of 12; Strength of evidence 5 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 2 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 1 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 47 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 81 of 100. Total 81 of 100.47 of the 58 points we could judge = 81 of 100

Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a randomised controlled trial. Scored zero for effect reported because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 47 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 81 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia (New York, N. Y.))
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 11 / 12 A randomised controlled trial
Strength of evidence 5 / 5 Rated “high” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 2 / 5 2018 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 2 / 4 125 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 1 / 2 Randomised (as stated in the record)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 29955655)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 47 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 47 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 81 out of 100.
Total 81 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Doniger, G. M., Beeri, M. S., Bahar-Fuchs, A., Gottlieb, A., Tkachov, A., Kenan, H., et al. (2018). Virtual reality-based cognitive-motor training for middle-aged adults at high Alzheimer's disease risk: A randomized controlled trial. Alzheimer's & dementia (New York, N. Y.). https://doi.org/10.1016/j.trci.2018.02.005

Vancouver

Doniger GM, Beeri MS, Bahar-Fuchs A, Gottlieb A, Tkachov A, Kenan H, et al. Virtual reality-based cognitive-motor training for middle-aged adults at high Alzheimer's disease risk: A randomized controlled trial. Alzheimer's & dementia (New York, N. Y.). 2018. doi:10.1016/j.trci.2018.02.005. PMID: 29955655.

BibTeX

@article{doniger2018-29955655,
  author  = {Doniger, G. M. and Beeri, M. S. and Bahar-Fuchs, A. and Gottlieb, A. and Tkachov, A. and Kenan, H. and Livny, A. and Bahat, Y. and others},
  title   = {{Virtual reality-based cognitive-motor training for middle-aged adults at high Alzheimer's disease risk: A randomized controlled trial}},
  journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia (New York, N. Y.)},
  year    = {2018},
  doi     = {10.1016/j.trci.2018.02.005},
  pmid    = {29955655},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.trci.2018.02.005}
}

Related studies in Prevention trials

Also tagged “cognitive-function”

1,118 studies in the library carry the topic tag “cognitive-function”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,118 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Prevention trials

See all studies in Prevention trials →