Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 74 out of 100. Treatments

Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety

This study evaluated the efficacy and safety of donepezil in patients with mild to moderately severe Alzheimer's disease, and examined the relationships between plasma donepezil concentration, red blood cell acetylcholinesterase (AChE) activity and clinical response. The trial was of a multicenter, double-blind, parallel-group design and patients were randomised to once-daily treatment with either donepezil (1, 3 or 5 mg) or placebo. The 12-week double-blind phase was followed by a 2-week single-blind placebo washout. 161 patients (55-85 years of age) entered the study and 141 completed treatment. Patients treated with donepezil showed dose-related improvements in the Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale-cognitive subscale score (ADAS-cog) and in MMSF scores. The improvements in ADAS-cog were statistically significantly greater with donepezil 5 mg/day than with placebo. There was a 50% reduction in the percentage of patients showing clinical decline with donepezil at 5 mg/day (11%) relative to placebo (20%). In addition, a statistically significant correlation between plasma concentrations of donepezil and AChE inhibition was demonstrated. A plateau of inhibition (76-84%) was reached at plasma donepezil concentrations > 50 ng/ml. The correlation between plasma drug concentrations and ADAS-cog (p = 0.014), MMSE (p = 0.023) and patient quality of life scores, assessed by the patient (p = 0.037) were also statistically significant, as was the correlation between AChE inhibition and change in ADAS-cog (p = 0.008). The incidence of treatment-emergent adverse events with all three dosages of donepezil (64-68%) was comparable to that observed with placebo (65%). Donepezil had no clinically significant effect on vital signs, haematology or clinical biochemistry tests. Importantly, donepezil was not associated with any hepatotoxicity, as observed with acridine-based cholinesterase inhibitors.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 74/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 11 of 12; Strength of evidence 5 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 2 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 45 of the 61 points it could be judged on, which is 74 of 100. Total 74 of 100.45 of the 61 points we could judge = 74 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a randomised controlled trial. Scored zero for effect reported because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record and institution's track record, so those were left out: it earned 45 of the 61 points we could judge it on, which is 74 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Dementia (Basel, Switzerland))
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 11 / 12 A randomised controlled trial (from PubMed type “Randomized Controlled Trial”)
Strength of evidence 5 / 5 Rated “high” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 1996 — older than 20 years, still counted
Sample size 2 / 4 161 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 2 / 2 Randomised and blinded or placebo-controlled (as stated in the record)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 PubMed indexes it as a multicentre study
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 8915035)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 45 / 61 Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 45 of the 61 points we could judge it on is 74 out of 100.
Total 74 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Rogers, S. L., & Friedhoff, L. T. (1996). The efficacy and safety of donepezil in patients with Alzheimer's disease: results of a US Multicentre, Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Trial. The Donepezil Study Group. Dementia (Basel, Switzerland). https://doi.org/10.1159/000106895

Vancouver

Rogers SL, Friedhoff LT. The efficacy and safety of donepezil in patients with Alzheimer's disease: results of a US Multicentre, Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Trial. The Donepezil Study Group. Dementia (Basel, Switzerland). 1996. doi:10.1159/000106895. PMID: 8915035.

BibTeX

@article{rogers1996-8915035,
  author  = {Rogers, S. L. and Friedhoff, L. T.},
  title   = {{The efficacy and safety of donepezil in patients with Alzheimer's disease: results of a US Multicentre, Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Trial. The Donepezil Study Group}},
  journal = {Dementia (Basel, Switzerland)},
  year    = {1996},
  doi     = {10.1159/000106895},
  pmid    = {8915035},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1159/000106895}
}

Related studies in Treatments

Also tagged “cholinesterase”

271 studies in the library carry the topic tag “cholinesterase”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 271 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Treatments

See all studies in Treatments →