Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 56 out of 100. Treatments

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

The purpose of this study was to investigate the effects of a walking/talking program on residents' communication, ambulation, and level of function when there were two residents to one care provider (2:1). A randomized control trial design was used. Subjects were residents with Alzheimer disease in three geriatric long-term care facilities in Metropolitan Toronto. Residents who met the inclusion criteria were randomly assigned to one of three groups: walk-and-talk group (30 min, 5 times per week for 16 weeks, walking/talking in pairs), talk-only group (30 min, 5 times per week for 16 weeks, talk only in pairs), or no intervention. The outcome measures were the Functional Assessment of Communication Skills for Adults, the 2-min walk test, and London Psychogeriatric Rating Scale. Residents who received the walk-and-talk intervention did not demonstrate statistically significant differences in the outcome variables measured posttest when compared with residents who received the talk-only intervention or no intervention, even after controlling for individual differences. Variability in the outcomes measured posttest is explained by differences in the residents' level of cognitive impairment before the study rather than by study group membership. These findings are contradictory to those of previous studies.

Key findings

Why it matters

In this trial of residents with Alzheimer's disease in long-term care, a 16-week walking and talking program produced no statistically significant differences in communication, ambulation, or functional status compared with a talking-only program or no intervention. These findings contradict some previous studies and suggest that this type of program may not improve these outcomes in this population.

Study details

How this study scored 56/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 1 of 4; Study design 11 of 12; Strength of evidence 5 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 1 of 2; Times cited 5 of 7; Citations per year 2 of 5; Impact for its field and year 2 of 6; Cited by studies here 2 of 6; Still being cited 1 of 4; Senior author's track record 1 of 4; Institution's track record 2 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 0 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. Total 56 of 100.56 of 100 points earned44 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a randomised controlled trial. Scored zero for sample size and effect reported because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Alzheimer disease and associated disorders)
Journal's citation record 1 / 4 Alzheimer Disease & Associated Disorders: journal h-index 131 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 11 / 12 A randomised controlled trial (from PubMed type “Randomized Controlled Trial”)
Strength of evidence 5 / 5 Rated “high” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2002 — older than 20 years, still counted
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (pubmed indexes it as a clinical or observational study)
Randomised / blinded 1 / 2 Randomised (as stated in the record)
Times cited 5 / 7 Cited 115 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 2 / 5 4.4 citations a year over 26 year(s) since 2002
Impact for its field and year 2 / 6 Cited 1.2× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 2 / 6 Cited by 5 other studies in this library
Still being cited 1 / 4 Cited 8 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 1 / 4 Last-listed author Donna Wells: h-index 6 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 2 / 3 University of Toronto: institution h-index 1,923 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 0 / 3 OpenAlex lists 1 institution(s) in 1 country — scores zero (affiliation lists can be incomplete)
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 12040303)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Total 56 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

May need a subscription Unpaywall, Europe PMC and OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 10 Oct 2026), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Cott, C. A., Dawson, P., Sidani, S., & Wells, D. (2002). The effects of a walking/talking program on communication, ambulation, and functional status in residents with Alzheimer disease. Alzheimer disease and associated disorders. https://doi.org/10.1097/00002093-200204000-00005

Vancouver

Cott CA, Dawson P, Sidani S, Wells D. The effects of a walking/talking program on communication, ambulation, and functional status in residents with Alzheimer disease. Alzheimer disease and associated disorders. 2002. doi:10.1097/00002093-200204000-00005. PMID: 12040303.

BibTeX

@article{cott2002-12040303,
  author  = {Cott, C. A. and Dawson, P. and Sidani, S. and Wells, D.},
  title   = {{The effects of a walking/talking program on communication, ambulation, and functional status in residents with Alzheimer disease}},
  journal = {Alzheimer disease and associated disorders},
  year    = {2002},
  doi     = {10.1097/00002093-200204000-00005},
  pmid    = {12040303},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1097/00002093-200204000-00005}
}

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

5 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.

Related studies in Treatments

Also tagged “double-blind”

783 studies in the library carry the topic tag “double-blind”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 783 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Treatments

See all studies in Treatments →