Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 43 out of 100. Cognitive tests and assessment

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Background Alzheimer's disease is the most common dementia in the elderly, and the potential of peripheral biochemical markers as complementary tools in the neuropsychiatric evaluation of these patients has claimed further attention. Methods We evaluated serum levels of S100B and neuron-specific enolase (NSE) in 54 mild, moderate and severe Alzheimer's disease (AD) patients and in 66 community-dwelling elderly. AD patients met the probable NINCDS-ADRDA criteria.

Key findings

Why it matters

This study measured serum S100B and NSE levels in 54 Alzheimer's disease patients and 66 community-dwelling elderly people. It is a biomarker comparison and does not test any treatment, cure, or prevention.

Study details

How this study scored 43/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 2 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 5 of 7; Citations per year 3 of 5; Impact for its field and year 3 of 6; Cited by studies here 2 of 6; Still being cited 2 of 4; Senior author's track record 2 of 4; Institution's track record 0 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 1 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. Total 43 of 100.43 of 100 points earned57 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of neuroinflammation)
Journal's citation record 2 / 4 Journal of Neuroinflammation: journal h-index 216 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2010 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 5 / 7 Cited 188 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 3 / 5 10.4 citations a year over 18 year(s) since 2010
Impact for its field and year 3 / 6 Cited 6.6× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 2 / 6 Cited by 7 other studies in this library
Still being cited 2 / 4 Cited 35 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 2 / 4 Last-listed author Luis Valmor Portela: h-index 45 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 0 / 3 Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul: institution h-index 543 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 1 / 3 OpenAlex lists 2 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 20105309)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Total 43 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Chaves, M. L., Camozzato, A. L., Ferreira, E. D., Piazenski, I., Kochhann, R., Dall'Igna, O., et al. (2010). Serum levels of S100B and NSE proteins in Alzheimer's disease patients. Journal of neuroinflammation. https://doi.org/10.1186/1742-2094-7-6

Vancouver

Chaves ML, Camozzato AL, Ferreira ED, Piazenski I, Kochhann R, Dall'Igna O, et al. Serum levels of S100B and NSE proteins in Alzheimer's disease patients. Journal of neuroinflammation. 2010. doi:10.1186/1742-2094-7-6. PMID: 20105309.

BibTeX

@article{chaves2010-20105309,
  author  = {Chaves, M. L. and Camozzato, A. L. and Ferreira, E. D. and Piazenski, I. and Kochhann, R. and Dall'Igna, O. and Mazzini, G. S. and Souza, D. O. and others},
  title   = {{Serum levels of S100B and NSE proteins in Alzheimer's disease patients}},
  journal = {Journal of neuroinflammation},
  year    = {2010},
  doi     = {10.1186/1742-2094-7-6},
  pmid    = {20105309},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1186/1742-2094-7-6}
}

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

7 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.

Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment

Also tagged “biomarkers”

821 studies in the library carry the topic tag “biomarkers”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 821 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Cognitive tests and assessment

See all studies in Cognitive tests and assessment →