Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 45 out of 100. Cognitive tests and assessment

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Objectives To determine whether decreased serum insulin-like growth factor-1 (IGF-1) levels could be a risk factor for dementia in older people. Setting Showa University Karasuyama Hospital, Tokyo, Japan. Participants A total of 436 Japanese elderly subjects: 106 patients with Alzheimer's disease (AD), 103 patients with vascular dementia (VaD), and 227 age-matched controls without dementia.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Watanabe, T., Miyazaki, A., Katagiri, T., Yamamoto, H., Idei, T., & Iguchi, T. (2005). Relationship between serum insulin-like growth factor-1 levels and Alzheimer's disease and vascular dementia. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1532-5415.2005.53524.x

Vancouver

Watanabe T, Miyazaki A, Katagiri T, Yamamoto H, Idei T, Iguchi T. Relationship between serum insulin-like growth factor-1 levels and Alzheimer's disease and vascular dementia. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society. 2005. doi:10.1111/j.1532-5415.2005.53524.x. PMID: 16181175.

BibTeX

@article{watanabe2005-16181175,
  author  = {Watanabe, T. and Miyazaki, A. and Katagiri, T. and Yamamoto, H. and Idei, T. and Iguchi, T.},
  title   = {{Relationship between serum insulin-like growth factor-1 levels and Alzheimer's disease and vascular dementia}},
  journal = {Journal of the American Geriatrics Society},
  year    = {2005},
  doi     = {10.1111/j.1532-5415.2005.53524.x},
  pmid    = {16181175},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1532-5415.2005.53524.x}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

This study of 436 elderly subjects examined whether lower serum insulin-like growth factor-1 levels were a risk factor for Alzheimer's disease and vascular dementia, finding MMSE scores positively correlated with serum IGF-1. This describes an association between IGF-1 levels and cognition, but it does not show that altering IGF-1 treats or prevents dementia.

Study details

How this study scored 45/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 3 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 5 of 7; Citations per year 2 of 5; Impact for its field and year 3 of 6; Cited by studies here 2 of 6; Still being cited 1 of 4; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record 0 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 1 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 43 of the 96 points it could be judged on, which is 45 of 100. Total 45 of 100.43 of the 96 points we could judge = 45 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on senior author's track record, so that was left out: it earned 43 of the 96 points we could judge it on, which is 45 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of the American Geriatrics Society)
Journal's citation record 3 / 4 Journal of the American Geriatrics Society: journal h-index 344 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2005 — older than 20 years, still counted
Sample size 2 / 4 106 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 5 / 7 Cited 133 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 2 / 5 5.8 citations a year over 23 year(s) since 2005
Impact for its field and year 3 / 6 Cited 3.5× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 2 / 6 Cited by 3 other studies in this library
Still being cited 1 / 4 Cited 11 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record 0 / 3 SHOWA Medical University: institution h-index 420 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 1 / 3 OpenAlex lists 2 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 16181175)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 43 / 96 Scored on 19 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 43 of the 96 points we could judge it on is 45 out of 100.
Total 45 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

May need a subscription OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 6 Feb 1020), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

3 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.

Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment

Also tagged “cerebrospinal”

821 studies in the library carry the topic tag “cerebrospinal”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 821 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Cognitive tests and assessment

See all studies in Cognitive tests and assessment →