Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 41 out of 100. Brain scans and imaging

Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers

The retina has been increasingly investigated as a site of Alzheimer's disease (AD) manifestation for over a decade. Early reports documented degeneration of retinal ganglion cells and their axonal projections. Our group provided the first evidence of the key pathological hallmarks of AD, amyloid β-protein (Aβ) plaques including vascular Aβ deposits, in the retina of AD and mild cognitively impaired (MCI) patients. Subsequent studies validated these findings and further identified electroretinography and vision deficits, retinal (p)tau and inflammation, intracellular Aβ accumulation, and retinal ganglion cell-subtype degeneration surrounding Aβ plaques in these patients. Our data suggest that the brain and retina follow a similar trajectory during AD progression, probably due to their common embryonic origin and anatomical proximity. However, the retina is the only CNS organ feasible for direct, repeated, and non-invasive ophthalmic examination with ultra-high spatial resolution and sensitivity. Neurovascular unit integrity is key to maintaining normal CNS function and cerebral vascular abnormalities are increasingly recognized as early and pivotal factors driving cognitive impairment in AD. Likewise, retinal vascular abnormalities such as changes in vessel density and fractal dimensions, blood flow, foveal avascular zone, curvature tortuosity, and arteriole-to-venule ratio were described in AD patients including early-stage cases. A rapidly growing number of reports have suggested that cerebral and retinal vasculopathy are tightly associated with cognitive deficits in AD patients and animal models. Importantly, we recently identified early and progressive deficiency in retinal vascular platelet-derived growth factor receptor-β (PDGFRβ) expression and pericyte loss that were associated with retinal vascular amyloidosis and cerebral amyloid angiopathy in MCI and AD patients. Other studies utilizing optical coherence tomography (OCT), retinal amyloid-fluorescence imaging and retinal hyperspectral imaging have made significant progress in visualizing and quantifying AD pathology through the retina. With new advances in OCT angiography, OCT leakage, scanning laser microscopy, fluorescein angiography and adaptive optics imaging, future studies focusing on retinal vascular AD pathologies could transform non-invasive pre-clinical AD diagnosis and monitoring.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Shi, H., Koronyo, Y., Rentsendorj, A., Fuchs, D.-T., Sheyn, J., Black, K. L., et al. (2021). Retinal Vasculopathy in Alzheimer's Disease. Frontiers in neuroscience. https://doi.org/10.3389/fnins.2021.731614

Vancouver

Shi H, Koronyo Y, Rentsendorj A, Fuchs D.-T, Sheyn J, Black KL, et al. Retinal Vasculopathy in Alzheimer's Disease. Frontiers in neuroscience. 2021. doi:10.3389/fnins.2021.731614. PMID: 34630020.

BibTeX

@article{shi2021-34630020,
  author  = {Shi, Haoshen and Koronyo, Yosef and Rentsendorj, Altan and Fuchs, Dieu-Trang and Sheyn, Julia and Black, Keith L and Mirzaei, Nazanin and Koronyo-Hamaoui, Maya},
  title   = {{Retinal Vasculopathy in Alzheimer's Disease}},
  journal = {Frontiers in neuroscience},
  year    = {2021},
  doi     = {10.3389/fnins.2021.731614},
  pmid    = {34630020},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.3389/fnins.2021.731614}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 8 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 41/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 3 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read left out, no data. 23 of the 56 points it could be judged on, which is 41 of 100. Total 41 of 100.23 of the 56 points we could judge = 41 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 23 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 41 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Frontiers in neuroscience)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 3 / 5 2021 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 34630020)
Free to read — / 2 Access not recorded — left out of this score
Points 23 / 56 Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 23 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 41 out of 100.
Total 41 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Brain scans and imaging

Also tagged “coherence-tomography”

151 studies in the library carry the topic tag “coherence-tomography”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 151 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Brain scans and imaging

See all studies in Brain scans and imaging →