Home › Research › Brain scans and imaging
Resting-state fMRI changes in Alzheimer's disease and mild cognitive impairment
Maja A A Binnewijzend, Menno M Schoonheim, Ernesto Sanz-Arigita, Alle Meije Wink, Wiesje M van der Flier, Nelleke Tolboom, Sofie M Adriaanse, Jessica S Damoiseaux et al.. Neurobiology of aging, 2011-08-20
Topic: Brain imaging, connectivity and assessment
Regional functional connectivity (FC) of 39 patients with Alzheimer's disease (AD), 23 patients with mild cognitive impairment (MCI), and 43 healthy elderly controls was studied using resting-state functional magnetic resonance imaging (rs-fMRI). After a mean follow-up of 2.8 ± 1.9 years, 7 MCI patients converted to AD, while 14 patients remained cognitively stable. Resting-state functional magnetic resonance imaging scans were analyzed using independent component analysis (ICA), followed by a "dual-regression" technique to create and compare subject-specific maps of each independent spatiotemporal component, correcting for age, sex, and gray matter atrophy. AD patients displayed lower FC within the default-mode network (DMN) in the precuneus and posterior cingulate cortex compared with controls, independent of cortical atrophy. Regional FC values of MCI patients were numerically in between AD patients and controls, but only the difference between AD and stable MCI patients was statistically significant. Correlation with cognitive dysfunction demonstrated the clinical relevance of FC changes within the DMN. In conclusion, clinically relevant decreased FC within the DMN was observed in AD.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Binnewijzend, M. A. A., Schoonheim, M. M., Sanz-Arigita, E., Wink, A. M., van der Flier, W. M., Tolboom, N., et al. (2012). Resting-state fMRI changes in Alzheimer's disease and mild cognitive impairment. Neurobiology of aging. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.neurobiolaging.2011.07.003
Vancouver
Binnewijzend MAA, Schoonheim MM, Sanz-Arigita E, Wink AM, van der Flier WM, Tolboom N, et al. Resting-state fMRI changes in Alzheimer's disease and mild cognitive impairment. Neurobiology of aging. 2012. doi:10.1016/j.neurobiolaging.2011.07.003. PMID: 21862179.
BibTeX
@article{binnewijzend2012-21862179,
author = {Binnewijzend, Maja A A and Schoonheim, Menno M and Sanz-Arigita, Ernesto and Wink, Alle Meije and van der Flier, Wiesje M and Tolboom, Nelleke and Adriaanse, Sofie M and Damoiseaux, Jessica S and others},
title = {{Resting-state fMRI changes in Alzheimer's disease and mild cognitive impairment}},
journal = {Neurobiology of aging},
year = {2012},
doi = {10.1016/j.neurobiolaging.2011.07.003},
pmid = {21862179},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.neurobiolaging.2011.07.003}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- AD patients displayed lower FC within the default-mode network (DMN) in the precuneus and posterior cingulate cortex compared with controls, independent of cortical atrophy.
- Regional FC values of MCI patients were numerically in between AD patients and controls, but only the difference between AD and stable MCI patients was statistically significant.
- Correlation with cognitive dysfunction demonstrated the clinical relevance of FC changes within the DMN.
- In conclusion, clinically relevant decreased FC within the DMN was observed in AD.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Brain scans & tests →
Study details
- Participants39
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 45/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 25 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 45 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Neurobiology of aging) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 2012 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 1 / 4 | 39 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 21862179) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 25 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 25 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 45 out of 100. |
| Total | 45 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Brain scans and imaging
Also tagged “connectivity”
187 studies in the library carry the topic tag “connectivity”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 187 tagged studies.