Home › Research › Drug development
Practical Considerations in the Administration of Aducanumab for the Neurologist
Coerver K, Yu MM, D'Abreu A, Wasserman M, Nair KV.. Neurology. Clinical practice, 2022-04-01
Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies
Aducanumab (Aduhelm), developed by the biotechnology firm Biogen in Cambridge, MA, was approved using the less common accelerated approval pathway by the Federal Drug Administration (FDA) reserved for treatments that fill a significant unmet need. 1 Its approval on June 7, 2021, has been met with an outpouring of opinions from prescribers, insurers, advocacy groups, and hospital systems regarding its risk-benefit profile. 2-4 Originally approved for all forms of Alzheimer disease (AD), the FDA updated aducanumab's labeling on July 8, 2021, for "treatment in patients with mild cognitive impairment (MCI) or mild dementia stage of disease, the population in which treatment was initiated in clinical trials." 5 With 6 million people nationally in the United States who suffer from AD and an anticipated one-third of those who may now fulfill the criteria under the revised labeling, the implicat
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Coerver, K., Yu, M. M., D'Abreu, A., Wasserman, M., & Nair, K. V. (2022). Practical Considerations in the Administration of Aducanumab for the Neurologist. Neurology. Clinical practice. https://doi.org/10.1212/cpj.0000000000001144
Vancouver
Coerver K, Yu MM, D'Abreu A, Wasserman M, Nair KV. Practical Considerations in the Administration of Aducanumab for the Neurologist. Neurology. Clinical practice. 2022. doi:10.1212/cpj.0000000000001144. PMID: 35733944.
BibTeX
@article{coerver2022-35733944,
author = {Coerver, K. and Yu, M. M. and D'Abreu, A. and Wasserman, M. and Nair, K. V.},
title = {{Practical Considerations in the Administration of Aducanumab for the Neurologist}},
journal = {Neurology. Clinical practice},
year = {2022},
doi = {10.1212/cpj.0000000000001144},
pmid = {35733944},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1212/cpj.0000000000001144}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Why it matters
This paper describes practical considerations for neurologists administering aducanumab, which was approved through the FDA's accelerated approval pathway. It notes that approval was met with many opinions from prescribers, insurers, advocacy groups and hospital systems regarding the drug's risk-benefit profile.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Treatments →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 35/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Neurology. Clinical practice) |
| Journal's citation record | 0 / 4 | Neurology Clinical Practice: journal h-index 60 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2022 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 2 / 7 | Cited 9 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 1 / 5 | 1.5 citations a year over 6 year(s) since 2022 |
| Impact for its field and year | 1 / 6 | Cited 0.9× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 0 / 6 | No other study in this library cites it |
| Still being cited | 1 / 4 | Cited 7 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 2 / 4 | Last-listed author Kavita V. Nair: h-index 20 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 2 / 3 | Baylor College of Medicine: institution h-index 1,607 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 1 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 3 institution(s) in 1 country |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 35733944) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Total | 35 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
- DOI: 10.1212/cpj.0000000000001144
- PubMed: 35733944
- Original source →
- Free full text: Neurology Clinical Practice →
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.
Related studies in Drug development
Also in Drug development
79 studies in the library are filed under Drug development with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Drug development hub.