Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 44 out of 100. Getting a diagnosis

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

Approximately 12% of apparently previously cognitively well patients undergoing anaesthesia and noncardiac surgery will develop symptoms of cognitive dysfunction after their procedure. Recent articles in this Journal have highlighted the difficulties of confirming any clear links between anaesthesia and cognitive dysfunction, in part because of the lack of consistency regarding definition and diagnosis. Postoperative cognitive dysfunction (POCD) is usually self-limiting and rarely persists in the longer term, although plausible biological mechanisms for an impact on brain protein deposition do exist. Clinical research studies are frequently confounded by a lack of agreed definitions and consistency of testing. Preoperative assessment of neurocognitive function and risk factor identification is imperative in order to ascertain the true extent of POCD and any causative link to anaesthesia and surgery. At present a multidisciplinary care bundle approach to risk factor stratification and reduction is the most attractive management plan based on evidence of slight benefit from individual interventions. As yet no individual anaesthetic technique, drug or mode of monitoring has been proved to reduce the incidence of POCD. Providing patients with appropriate and accurate information can be difficult because of conflicting evidence. The Royal College of Anaesthetists' patient liaison group has produced a useful patient information leaflet that is designed to provide guidance in discussions of individual risks whilst considerable uncertainties remain.

Key findings

Why it matters

This review states that postoperative cognitive dysfunction is usually self-limiting and rarely persists long term, and that no individual anaesthetic technique, drug, or monitoring method has been proven to reduce its incidence. It recommends preoperative assessment and a multidisciplinary care bundle approach to identify and reduce risk factors.

Study details

How this study scored 44/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 3 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 2 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 6 of 7; Citations per year 4 of 5; Impact for its field and year 3 of 6; Cited by studies here 1 of 6; Still being cited 3 of 4; Senior author's track record 1 of 4; Institution's track record 0 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 1 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. Total 44 of 100.44 of 100 points earned56 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (British journal of anaesthesia)
Journal's citation record 3 / 4 British Journal of Anaesthesia: journal h-index 288 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 2 / 5 2017 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 6 / 7 Cited 421 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 4 / 5 38.3 citations a year over 11 year(s) since 2017
Impact for its field and year 3 / 6 Cited 7.2× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 1 / 6 Cited by 1 other studies in this library
Still being cited 3 / 4 Cited 172 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 1 / 4 Last-listed author Daniele C. Bryden: h-index 16 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 0 / 3 Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust: institution h-index 323 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 1 / 3 OpenAlex lists 2 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 29161395)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Total 44 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Needham, M. J., Webb, C. E., & Bryden, D. C. (2017). Postoperative cognitive dysfunction and dementia: what we need to know and do. British journal of anaesthesia. https://doi.org/10.1093/bja/aex354

Vancouver

Needham MJ, Webb CE, Bryden DC. Postoperative cognitive dysfunction and dementia: what we need to know and do. British journal of anaesthesia. 2017. doi:10.1093/bja/aex354. PMID: 29161395.

BibTeX

@article{needham2017-29161395,
  author  = {Needham, M. J. and Webb, C. E. and Bryden, D. C.},
  title   = {{Postoperative cognitive dysfunction and dementia: what we need to know and do}},
  journal = {British journal of anaesthesia},
  year    = {2017},
  doi     = {10.1093/bja/aex354},
  pmid    = {29161395},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1093/bja/aex354}
}

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

1 study in the alzhub library lists this one in its references.

Related studies in Getting a diagnosis

Also tagged “prevalence”

1,224 studies in the library carry the topic tag “prevalence”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,224 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Getting a diagnosis

See all studies in Getting a diagnosis →