Home › Research › Treatments
Polygenic risk score predicts pathologically confirmed cerebral amyloid angiopathy
Jung-Min Pyun, Young Ho Park, SangYun Kim, Kwangsik Nho, Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association, 2025-12
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
CAA-PRS was significantly associated with pathological CAA (OR = 1.766, p < 0.001), with an AUC of 0.783 overall and 0.766 (OR = 1.780, p = 0.002) in those with high amyloid burden. A marginal association was observed in MRI-negative individuals. CAA-PRS may serve as a complementary biomarker to imaging for identifying high-risk individuals with CAA, particularly in the context of Aβ-targeting therapies and ARIA risk. HIGHLIGHTS: CAA-PRS is generated. CAA-PRS is associated with pathologically confirmed CAA. CAA-PRS is associated with CAA in individuals with high amyloid burden.
Key findings
- CAA-PRS was significantly associated with pathological CAA (OR = 1.766, p < 0.001), with an AUC of 0.783 overall and 0.766 (OR = 1.780, p = 0.002) in those with high amyloid burden.
- A marginal association was observed in MRI-negative individuals.
- CAA-PRS may serve as a complementary biomarker to imaging for identifying high-risk individuals with CAA, particularly in the context of Aβ-targeting therapies and ARIA risk.
- CAA-PRS is associated with pathologically confirmed CAA.
- CAA-PRS is associated with CAA in individuals with high amyloid burden.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Treatments →
Study details
- Effect sizeOR = 1.766; OR = 1.780
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 52/100
Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 29 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 52 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 3 / 3 | Effect reported with a statistic (interval, p-value, ratio or similar) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 41383049) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 29 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 29 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 52 out of 100. |
| Total | 52 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Pyun, J.-M., Park, Y. H., Kim, S., Nho, K., & Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative. (2025). Polygenic risk score predicts pathologically confirmed cerebral amyloid angiopathy. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. https://doi.org/10.1002/alz.70958
Vancouver
Pyun J.-M, Park YH, Kim S, Nho K, Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative. Polygenic risk score predicts pathologically confirmed cerebral amyloid angiopathy. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. 2025. doi:10.1002/alz.70958. PMID: 41383049.
BibTeX
@article{pyun2025-41383049,
author = {Pyun, Jung-Min and Park, Young Ho and Kim, SangYun and Nho, Kwangsik and {Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative}},
title = {{Polygenic risk score predicts pathologically confirmed cerebral amyloid angiopathy}},
journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association},
year = {2025},
doi = {10.1002/alz.70958},
pmid = {41383049},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1002/alz.70958}
}
Related studies in Treatments
Also tagged “amyloid-angiopathy”
229 studies in the library carry the topic tag “amyloid-angiopathy”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 229 tagged studies.