Home › Research › Biomarkers
Plasma proteome profiling identifies changes associated to AD but not to FTD
Mofrad RB, Del Campo M, Peeters CFW, Meeter LHH, Seelaar H, Koel-Simmelink M, Ramakers IHGB, Middelkoop HAM et al.. Acta neuropathologica communications, 2022-10-22
Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models
In addition, we compared plasma results with results in post-mortem frontal cortex of FTD cases to understand the underlying process. Results Overall plasma protein expression profiles differed between FTD, AD and controls (6 proteins; p = 0.005), but none of the plasma proteins was specifically associated to FTD. The overall tissue protein expression profile differed between FTD and controls (7-proteins; p = 0.003). There was no difference in overall plasma or tissue expression profile between FTD subtypes. Regression analysis revealed a panel of 12-plasma proteins discriminating FTD from AD with high accuracy (AUC: 0.99).
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Mofrad, R. B., Del Campo, M., Peeters, C. F. W., Meeter, L. H. H., Seelaar, H., Koel-Simmelink, M., et al. (2022). Plasma proteome profiling identifies changes associated to AD but not to FTD. Acta neuropathologica communications. https://doi.org/10.1186/s40478-022-01458-w
Vancouver
Mofrad RB, Del Campo M, Peeters CFW, Meeter LHH, Seelaar H, Koel-Simmelink M, et al. Plasma proteome profiling identifies changes associated to AD but not to FTD. Acta neuropathologica communications. 2022. doi:10.1186/s40478-022-01458-w. PMID: 36273219.
BibTeX
@article{mofrad2022-36273219,
author = {Mofrad, R. B. and Del Campo, M. and Peeters, C. F. W. and Meeter, L. H. H. and Seelaar, H. and Koel-Simmelink, M. and Ramakers, I. H. G. B. and Middelkoop, H. A. M. and others},
title = {{Plasma proteome profiling identifies changes associated to AD but not to FTD}},
journal = {Acta neuropathologica communications},
year = {2022},
doi = {10.1186/s40478-022-01458-w},
pmid = {36273219},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1186/s40478-022-01458-w}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- In addition, we compared plasma results with results in post-mortem frontal cortex of FTD cases to understand the underlying process.
- Results Overall plasma protein expression profiles differed between FTD, AD and controls (6 proteins; p = 0.005), but none of the plasma proteins was specifically associated to FTD.
- The overall tissue protein expression profile differed between FTD and controls (7-proteins; p = 0.003).
- There was no difference in overall plasma or tissue expression profile between FTD subtypes.
- Regression analysis revealed a panel of 12-plasma proteins discriminating FTD from AD with high accuracy (AUC: 0.99).
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Participants1,303
- Effect sizeAUC: 0.99
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 59/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 34 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 59 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Acta neuropathologica communications) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2022 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 3 / 4 | 1,303 participants |
| Effect reported | 3 / 3 | Effect reported with a statistic (interval, p-value, ratio or similar) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 36273219) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Points | 34 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 34 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 59 out of 100. |
| Total | 59 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “changes”
5 studies in the library carry the topic tag “changes”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 5 tagged studies.