Home › Research › Biomarkers
Plasma lipocalin-2 levels in the preclinical stage of Alzheimer's disease
Emily Eruysal, Lisa Ravdin, Hooman Kamel, Costantino Iadecola, Makoto Ishii. Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands), 2019-09-06
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
Plasma lipocalin-2 levels were higher in preclinical AD compared with control subjects and associated with cerebrospinal fluid amyloid-beta42 levels but not cerebrospinal fluid tau or phosphorylated-tau181 levels. Exploratory analyses revealed that plasma lipocalin-2 was associated with executive function but not episodic memory. Collectively, these results raise the possibility that circulating lipocalin-2 is involved early in AD pathogenesis and may represent an early blood biomarker of amyloid-beta pathology.
Key findings
- Plasma lipocalin-2 levels were higher in preclinical AD compared with control subjects and associated with cerebrospinal fluid amyloid-beta42 levels but not cerebrospinal fluid tau or phosphorylated-tau181 levels.
- Exploratory analyses revealed that plasma lipocalin-2 was associated with executive function but not episodic memory.
- Collectively, these results raise the possibility that circulating lipocalin-2 is involved early in AD pathogenesis and may represent an early blood biomarker of amyloid-beta pathology.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Study designcross-sectional
- Participants156
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 59/100
Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a snapshot of people at one point in time. Scored zero for effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 33 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 59 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands)) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 4 / 12 | A snapshot of people at one point in time |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 2 / 5 | 2019 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 2 / 4 | 156 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 31517027) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 33 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 33 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 59 out of 100. |
| Total | 59 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Eruysal, E., Ravdin, L., Kamel, H., Iadecola, C., & Ishii, M. (2019). Plasma lipocalin-2 levels in the preclinical stage of Alzheimer's disease. Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands). https://doi.org/10.1016/j.dadm.2019.07.004
Vancouver
Eruysal E, Ravdin L, Kamel H, Iadecola C, Ishii M. Plasma lipocalin-2 levels in the preclinical stage of Alzheimer's disease. Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands). 2019. doi:10.1016/j.dadm.2019.07.004. PMID: 31517027.
BibTeX
@article{eruysal2019-31517027,
author = {Eruysal, Emily and Ravdin, Lisa and Kamel, Hooman and Iadecola, Costantino and Ishii, Makoto},
title = {{Plasma lipocalin-2 levels in the preclinical stage of Alzheimer's disease}},
journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands)},
year = {2019},
doi = {10.1016/j.dadm.2019.07.004},
pmid = {31517027},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.dadm.2019.07.004}
}
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “blood-based”
698 studies in the library carry the topic tag “blood-based”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 698 tagged studies.